Yoel Gamzou

Yoel Gamzou (c) Christian Debus

Yoel Gamzou is currently Generalmusikdirektor of the Theater Bremen, a position he began at the outset of the 2017/18 season with a critically acclaimed new production of Shostakovich’s Lady MacBeth of the Mtsensk District. This was followed by a new production of Die Fledermaus and a revival of Carmen. After his successful debut at the Luzern Theater, he returned with Massenet´s Manon in 2017/18. In the current season, he will lead new productions of Fidelio and L’étoile in addition to performances of Rigoletto and Die tote Stadt in Bremen.

Mr. Gamzou is also Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the International Mahler Orchestra (IMO), an ensemble he founded in 2006. Prior to his appointment as GMD in Bremen, Gamzou stepped in on short-notice to conduct the Staatsorchester Kassel in Mahler’s 9th Symphony and was immediately invited to become the orchestra’s Principal Guest Conductor, and later First Kapellmeister and deputy-GMD of the Staatstheater Kassel, a position he maintained until summer 2015.

During his time in Kassel, he led a variety of acclaimed concerts and opera productions including Fidelio, Tosca, Rigoletto and Il Barbiere di Sivilgia.

As a guest conductor, Mr. Gamzou has worked with the jOpera Jennersdorf Festivalsommer in Austria (Carmen), and symphony orchestras such as the Bamberger Symphoniker, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra, Deutsches Radio-Sinfonieorchester, Hamburger Symphoniker, Mozarteum Orchester Salzburg, Sinfonieorchester St. Gallen, Sinfonieorchester Aachen, Jena Philharmonie, Belgrade Philharmonic, Malaysian Philharmonic, and Israel Philharmonic among others. He also works regularly with the Stuttgarter Philharmoniker, with whom he enjoys a very close connection, and with whom he will lead two concert periods in the 2018/19 season, along with concerts in St. Gallen, Saarbrücken and with the Frankfurter Museumsorchester.

Mr. Gamzou has had a special relationship with Gustav Mahler’s music from the time he was a small boy. He initially drew international attention at International Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition when, as a 19-year old, he was awarded the competition’s “Special Prize”. In 2010, Gamzou garnered further international recognition when his completion of Mahler’s unfinished 10th Symphony was published by Schott Music. Both the premiere in Berlin and the concert tour which followed in 2011 – with Gamzou conducting his IMO – were highly acclaimed by Mahler experts, the press, and audiences. A live-recording of the tour’s final concert at the Berlin Philharmonie was released on the WERGO label in Germany. Gamzou’s realization of Mahler’s 10th Symphony continues to be performed around the world, often with Gamzou himself conducting.

Mr. Gamzou is the recipient of various prizes and awards, including: the ECHO Klassik Award in the category emerging artist of the year “conductor” in November 2017; the prestigious “Princess Margriet Award” of the European Cultural Foundation in March 2013; and the Berenberg Culture Prize (Hamburg) in February 2012. The press have referred to him as a “breathtaking sensation” (Hamburger Abendblatt), an “unshakeable, radical, uncompromising, possessed genius” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), and as “outrageously talented” (Opernwelt).

Mr. Gamzou was born to an artistic family and grew up in New York, London and Tel Aviv. He had the honor of being Carlo Maria Giulini’s final student.

 

2018/19

 

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

www.yoelgamzou.com

Upcoming performances

Yoel Gamzou

Yoel Gamzou (c) Christian Debus

Yoel Gamzou ist seit der Saison 2017/18 Generalmusikdirektor am Theater Bremen. Bereits seine erste Produktion in dieser Position, Schostakowitschs Lady Macbeth von Mzensk, sorgte bei der Presse für Furore. Darauf folgten eine Neuproduktion von Die Fledermaus und eine Wiederaufnahme von Carmen. Nach seinem erfolgreichen Debüt am Luzerner Theater kehrte er in der vergangenen Saison mit Massenets Manon zurück. 2018/19 wird er in Bremen neben Vorstellungen von Rigoletto und Die tote Stadt eine Neuproduktion von Fidelio und von L’étoile leiten.

Yoel Gamzou ist künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent beim International Mahler Orchestra (IMO), welches 2006 gegründet wurde. Bevor er seine Position in Bremen antrat, dirigierte er beim Staatsorchester Kassel im Rahmen eines Einspringens Mahlers 9. Sinfonie mit so großem Erfolg, dass er umgehend zum ersten Gastdirigenten und später zum ersten Kapellmeister und stellvertretenden Generalmusikdirektor ernannt wurde. Diese Position hatte er bis Sommer 2015 inne.

Während seiner Zeit in Kassel leitete er eine Reihe von sehr erfolgreichen Konzerten und Opernproduktionen wie Fidelio, Tosca, Rigoletto und Il Barbiere di Siviglia.

Gastengagements führten ihn zur jOpera Jennersdorf Festivalsommer in Österreich (Carmen) und zu Orchestern wie den Bamberger Symphonikern, Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, der Deutschen Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken, den Hamburger Symphonikern, dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, dem Sinfonieorchester St. Gallen, dem Sinfonieorchester Aachen, der Jena Philharmonie, Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra u.a. Seine regelmäßige Arbeit mit den Stuttgarter Philharmonikern gründet auf einer sehr engen Verbindung zum Orchester. So wird er auch 2018/19 neben Konzerten in St. Gallen, Saarbrücken und mit dem Frankfurter Museumsorchester, zwei Konzertperioden in Stuttgart dirigieren.

Seit seiner frühen Kindheit begleitet Yoel Gamzou Gustav Mahlers Musik. Als 19-Jähriger zog er beim Internationalen Gustav Mahler Dirigentenwettbewerb zum ersten Mal internationale Aufmerksamkeit auf sich, als er mit dem Förderpreis ausgezeichnet wurde. 2010 sorgte er erneut für internationales Aufsehen, als seine Vervollständigung von Mahlers unvollendeter 10. Sinfonie von Schott Music veröffentlicht wurde. Sowohl die Premiere in Berlin als auch die anschließende Tour mit seinem IMO, wurden von Mahler Experten, der Presse und dem Publikum umjubelt. Eine Liveaufnahme des letzten Tour-Konzerts in der Philharmonie Berlin wurde in Deutschland von WERGO veröffentlicht. Gamzous Version von Mahlers 10. Sinfonie wird nach wie vor weltweit aufgeführt; oft steht er selbst am Pult.

Yoel Gamzou ist mehrfacher Preisträger, unter anderem wurde er im November 2017 mit dem ECHO Klassik Award in der Kategorie Nachwuchskünstler des Jahres „Dirigent“, im März 2013 mit dem renommierten „Princess Margriet Award“ der European Cultural Foundation und im Februar 2012 mit dem „Berenberg Culture Prize“ (Hamburg) ausgezeichnet.

Von „atemberaubendem Furor“ und dem „vielleicht aufregendsten Beitrag zum Hamburger Mahler-Jubiläum“ sprach das Hamburger Abendblatt. Die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung widmete Gamzou eine komplette Seite und übertitelte sie: „Unbeirrbar, radikal, kompromisslos – Porträt eines genialisch Besessenen“. Die Opernwelt feierte seine Arbeit als „unerhört gekonnt“.

Yoel Gamzou wurde in einer Künstlerfamilie geboren und wuchs in New York, London und Tel Aviv auf. Sein wichtigster Mentor war Carlo Maria Giulini, mit dem Yoel Gamzou in Mailand bis zu dessen Tode zwei Jahre lang arbeitete.

2018/19

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

www.yoelgamzou.com

Nächste Vorstellungen