Tanja Ariane Baumgartner

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner (c) Dario Acosta

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner’s performances as Agaue in Henze’s The Bassarids at the 2018 Salzburg Festival, her Fricka (Rheingold/Walküre) at Bayreuth Festival in 2017 and at Lyric Opera of Chicago have confirmed her as one of the leading mezzo-sopranos of our time. Further standout performances that have catapulted her to the top class of international mezzo-sopranos include her celebrated Cassandre (Les Troyens) at the Oper Frankfurt and her spectacular role debut as Ortrud (Lohengrin) at the Staatsoper Hamburg.

In 2018/19, she will appear at Oper Frankfurt as Clairon in Capriccio, Iokaste in Oedipus Rex, Preziosilla in Forza del destino und Gaea in Daphne. Oper Zürich presents Ms. Baumgartner this season as Venus in Tannhäuser, and she will return to the Staatsoper Hamburg as Kundry in Parsifal. Concerts will bring her to Munich and Hamburg where she will perform Mahlers Lied von der Erde with the Münchner Philharmoniker. She will sing Beethoven’s Symphony No.9 with the Orchestre symphonique de Radio France in Paris and Giuditta in Betulia liberata at the Brucknerhaus in Linz. Ms. Baumgartner further will be heard in Mahler Symphony No.2 in Belgrade, and in a Ligeti-program in Tokyo.

Her highly anticipated debut as Kundry in Parsifal at the Vlaamse Opera Antwerpen in the 2017/18 season resulted in a major triumph for Ms. Baumgartner. Some of her other engagements in that season included a new production of Capriccio at Oper Frankfurt, Azucena (Trovatore), and Principessa de Bouillon (Adriana Lecouvreur). In Summer 2018, she returned to the Salzburg Festival for the highly acclaimed new production of Henze`s The Bassarids under the baton of Kent Nagano.

Tanja Baumgartner has been a member of the ensemble at Oper Frankfurt since the 2009/10 season. During her time in Frankfurt she has made successful appearances in numerous operas and roles, including among others: Carmen, Cornelia (Giulio Cesare in Egitto), Eboli (Don Carlo), Gora in the German premiere of Reimann’s Medea (which has been released on CD by OehmsClassics), Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten), the foreign princess (Rusalka), Iokaste (Oedipe), Tigrana (Puccini-Edgar), Charlotte (Werther), Gaea (Daphne) and the title role in Othmar Schoeck’s Penthesilea.

Alongside her activities in Frankfurt, Ms. Baumgartner made her role-debut in the 2016/17 season as the Mayor’s Wife (Jenufa) in Santiago de Chile. In the 2015/16 season she appeared in Toulouse as Judith in Bluebeard’s Castle, at the Theater an der Wien as Clarion in Capriccio, and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin as Brangäne in Tristan und Isolde. She also made her role-debut as Clarion in Strauss’ Capriccio at the Royal Opera House in London in summer 2013 and appeared at the Edinburgh Festival as Judith in Bluebeard’s Castle the same year. Her debut at the Salzburg Festival took place in 2010 when she played Gräfin Geschwitz in Lulu, after which she was invited to return to Salzburg in 2012 as Charlotte in Zimmermann’s Soldaten.

Ms. Baumgartner began her musical studies with the violin at the Musikhochschule in Freiburg and then continue to study voice in Karlsruhe, Vienna and Sofia.

2018/19

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Upcoming Performances

www.tanjaarianebaumgartner.com

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner (c) Dario Acosta

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner zählt zu den führenden Mezzosopranistinnen unserer Zeit. Spätestens mit der Fricka (Rheingold/Walküre) bei den Bayreuther Festspielen 2017 sowie an der Lyric Opera Chicago, ihrer fulminanten Cassandre (Les Troyens) an der Oper Frankfurt und ihrem spektakulären Ortrud-Debüt (Lohengrin) an der Staatsoper Hamburg hat sie sich international an die Spitze der dramatischen Mezzosoprane gesungen.

An ihrem Stammhaus, der Frankfurter Oper, wird sie in der Saison 2018/19 als Clairon in Capriccio, Iokaste in Oedipus Rex, Preziosilla in Forza del destino und Gaea in Daphne zu hören sein. Die Oper Zürich präsentiert die Künstlerin als Venus in Tannhäuser. An die Staatsoper Hamburg kehrt Tanja Baumgartner als Kundry in Parsifal zurück. Konzerte führen die Mezzosopranistin mit Mahlers Lied von der Erde zu den Münchner Philharmonikern nach München und Hamburg; mit Radio France singt sie Beethoven Symphonie Nr.9 in Paris, im Brucknerhaus Linz übernimmt sie die Giuditta in Betulia liberata, in Belgrad ist sie mit Mahler Symphonie Nr.2 und in Tokyo mit einem Ligeti-Programm zu hören.

Ihr mit Spannung erwartetes Kundry-Debüt (Parsifal) an der Vlaamse Opera Antwerpen in der Saison 2017/18 wurde zu einem Triumph für die Sängerin. Zu weiteren Verpflichtungen der Saison zählten die Neuproduktion Capriccio an der Oper Frankfurt, Azucena (Trovatore) und Principessa de Bouillon (Adriana Lecouvreur). Im Sommer 2018 kehrte Tanja Ariane Baumgartner zu den Salzburger Festspielen zurück, um die Agaue/Venus in der Neuproduktion von Henzes The Bassarides unter der Leitung von Kent Nagano zu singen.

Tanja Ariana Baumgartner gehört seit der Spielzeit 2009/10 zum Ensemble der Oper Frankfurt. Zu ihren Frankfurter Erfolgen zählen u.a. Carmen, Cornelia (Giulio Cesare in Egitto), Eboli (Don Carlo), Gora in der deutschen Erstaufführung von Reimanns Medea (auf CD bei OehmsClassics erschienen), Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten), Fremde Fürstin (Rusalka), Iokaste (Oedipe), Tigrana (Puccini-Edgar), Charlotte (Werther), Gaea (Daphne) und die Titelpartie von Othmar Schoecks Penthesilea.

Neben ihren Verpflichtungen in Frankfurt gab Tanja Ariane Baumgartner in der Saison 2016/17 ihr Rollendebüt als Küsterin (Jenufa) in Santiago de Chile und war 2015/16 in Toulouse als Judith in Herzog Blaubarts Burg, am Theater an der Wien als Clairon in Capriccio und an der Deutschen Oper Berlin als Brangäne in Tristan und Isolde zu erleben. Außerdem gab sie im Sommer 2013 ihr Debüt am Royal Opera House in London als Clairon in Strauss’ Capriccio und gastierte beim Festival in Edinburgh als Judith in Bartoks Einakter Herzog Blaubarts Burg. Die Mezzosopranistin debütierte 2010 bei den Salzburger Festspielen als Gräfin Geschwitz in Lulu und kehrte 2012 als Charlotte in Zimmermanns Soldaten nach Salzburg zurück.

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner studierte zunächst Violine an der Musikhochschule in Freiburg, dann Gesang in Karlsruhe, Wien und Sofia.

2018/2019

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

Nächste Vorstellungen

www.tanjaarianebaumgartner.com