Sebastian Weigle

Sebastian Weigle (c) Wolfgang Runkel

In addition to his continued role as Music Director at the Oper Frankfurt, this season Sebastian Weigle will be conducting opera productions at Berlin State Opera (Hänsel und Gretel) and Wiener Staatsoper (Lohengrin), as well as concerts with such orchestras as the Berner Symphoniker, Dresdner Philharmonie, Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin and the Wiener Symphoniker.

After several highly successful productions at the Oper Frankfurt – including Die Frau ohne Schatten, which brought him the nomination for “Conductor of the Year“ of the prestigious journal “Opernwelt” in 2003 – Sebastian Weigle became Music Director at the beginning of the 2008/09 season, a role he has held since. In the years from 2004 to 2009 he was also music director at Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona where in 2005 his Parsifal was awarded “Best Production of the Year” and in 2006 Sebastian Weigle himself was awarded “Conductor of the Year“ based on his conducting of Die tote Stadt. In the summer of 2007 he made his debut at the Bayreuther Festspiele with a new production of Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg.

Engagements have taken him to the opera houses of Berlin, Munich, Hamburg, Dresden, Zurich and Mannheim, to the Wiener Staatsoper as well as the Volksoper, the New York Metropolitan Opera and to Tokyo. On concert stages he has conducted renowned orchestras such as the Radio Orchestras of Berlin, Munich, Vienna and Stuttgart, the Bamberger Symphoniker and all the major Scandinavian orchestras. Sebastian Weigle has conducted worldwide, as for instance in Tokyo, Chicago and Melbourne.

Several CD recordings capture his work on Beethoven, Mozart, Rott and many more. In 2012 his Ring des Nibelungen production of the Oper Frankfurt appeared on DVD (Oehms-Classic).

Born in 1961 in Berlin, Sebastian Weigle studied horn, piano and conducting at the Academy of Music Hanns Eisler and was appointed 1st solo horn player of the Staatskapelle Berlin in 1982. In 1987 he founded the Chamber Choir Berlin and was artistic director of Neues Berliner Kammerorchester, in 1993 he became music director of the Junge Philharmonie Brandenburg. From 1997 to 2002 he was Staatskapellmeister at the Berliner Staatsoper.

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Upcoming Performances

www.sebastianweigle.com

Sebastian Weigle

Sebastian Weigle (c) Wolfgang Runkel

 Engagements der laufenden Saison führen Sebastian Weigle neben seiner Tätigkeit als Generalmusikdirektor in Frankfurt an die Berliner Staatsoper (Hänsel und Gretel) und Wiener Staatsoper (Lohengrin). Im Konzertbereich ist er u.a. mit den Berner Symphonieorchester, den Wiener Symphonikern, sowie der Dresdner Philharmonie und dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin zu sehen.

 Nach mehreren höchst erfolgreichen Produktionen an der Oper Frankfurt – u.a. Die Frau ohne Schatten, für die er 2003 von den Kritikern des Fachmagazins „Opernwelt“ zum „Dirigenten des Jahres“ gekürt wurde – hat Sebastian Weigle mit Beginn der Spielzeit 2008/09 die dortige musikalische Leitung übernommen, die ihm bis heute innewohnt. Daneben war er von 2004 – 2009 Chefdirigent am Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, wo er 2005 für sein Dirigat des Parsifal mit der „besten Produktion des Jahres“ und 2006 für Korngolds Die tote Stadt als „Dirigent des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet wurde. Im Sommer 2007 debütierte er bei den Bayreuther Festspielen mit einer Neuproduktion der Meistersinger von Nürnberg.

Engagements führten ihn u.a. an die Opernhäuser von Berlin, München, Dresden, Hamburg, Zürich, Mannheim, die Wiener Staatsoper und Volksoper, an die New Yorker Metropolitan Opera sowie nach Tokyo. Bei Konzerten stand er am Pult renommierter Orchester, so z.B. der Rundfunkorchester von Berlin, München, Wien und Stuttgart, der Bamberger Symphoniker, der großen skandinavischen Orchester sowie außerhalb von Europa u.a. in Tokyo, Chicago und Melbourne.

Zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen des Künstlers mit Werken von Beethoven, Mozart, Rott uvm. liegen vor. Unter seiner musikalischen Leitung erschien 2012 die Frankfurter Ring des Nibelungen-Produktion (Regie: Vera Nemirova) bei Oehms-Classic auf DVD.

1961 in Berlin geboren, studierte Sebastian Weigle an der „Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler“ Horn, Klavier und Dirigieren und wurde 1982 zum 1. Solohornisten der Staatskapelle Berlin ernannt. 1987 gründete er den Kammerchor Berlin und war Künstlerischer Leiter des Neuen Berliner Kammerorchesters, 1993 wurde er Chefdirigent der Jungen Philharmonie Brandenburg. Von 1997 bis 2002 war er Staatskapellmeister an der Berliner Staatsoper.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

Nächste Vorstellungen

www.sebastianweigle.com