Peter Kellner

Peter Kellner

The young Slovakian bass/bass-baritone Peter Kellner joined the ensemble of the Vienna State Opera in the 2018/19 season, where he will sing Theseus in a new production of Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream conducted by Simone Young, as well as Il re di Scozia in Ariodante and Leporello (Don Giovanni) in 2019/20. Elseswhere this season, he will perform Colline La Bohème at the Royal Opera House in London.

In recent years, Mr. Kellner has made several house debuts, including at the Vienna State Opera as Panthée in Berlioz’ Les Troyens, at London’s Royal Opera House as Ratcliffe (Billy Budd), as well as at the Glyndebourne Festival and the Volksoper Wien as Figaro (Le Nozze di Figaro). He also debuted as Papageno (Die Zauberflöte) at the Teatro de la Maestranza in Sevilla and at the Teatro Lirico Giuseppe Verdi in Trieste. Further debuts include Sarastro (Die Zauberflöte) at Stadttheater Klagenfurt, the title role in Händel’s Hercules at Staatstheater Oldenburg, Colas (Bastien und Bastienne) at the Macao Opera Festival, Le Gouverneur (Le Comte Ory) at the Klosterneuburg Festival, Dulcamara (L’elisir d’amore) at the Staatstheater Banská Bystrica and Sciarrone and Carceriere (Tosca) with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic. He sang his first Colline (La Bohème) and Leporello (Don Giovanni) at the Slovak National Theater in Bratislava. In 2013 Mr. Kellner performed as Osmin in Die Entführung aus dem Serail für Kinder and in Verdi’s Don Carlo conducted by Antonio Pappano at the Salzburg Festival. During his tenure as member of the ensemble at Oper Graz (2015/16-2017/18) he portrayed roles such as Osmin (Die Entführung aus dem Serail), Basilio (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Dottore Grenvil (La Traviata), Frère Laurent (Roméo et Juliette), Colline (La Bohème), Lord Sidney (Il viaggio a Reims) and the title role of Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro.

Mr. Kellner was awarded the Independent Opera Fellowship at the Wigmore Hall Song Competition, the second prize and the audience award at the International Mozart Competition Salzburg and the first prize at the International Ferruccio Tagliavini Competition in Deutschlandsberg.

He has worked with conductors such as Sir Antonio Pappano, Vasily Petrenko, Adam Fischer, Marco Armiliato, Ivor Bolton, Friedrich Haider and orchestras such as the Vienna Philharmonic, the Camerata Salzburg, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, the Bamberger Symphoniker, the Staatsphilharmonie Košice and the Graz Philharmonic Orchestra.

Mr. Kellner was born in the Slovak Republic and studied at the conservatory in Košice with M. Adamenko, at the Mozarteum in Salzburg with B. Bakow, and he completed his bachelor’s degree with A. Sol at the Kunstuniversität Graz.

2019/20

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Peter Kellner

Peter Kellner

Der junge slowakische Bass/Bassbariton Peter Kellner ist seit der Spielzeit 2018/19 Ensemblemitglied der Wiener Staatsoper. In der neuen Spielzeit wird er hier unter anderem als Theseus im Midsummernight’s Dream und als Nummer Eins in der Neuproduktion von Henzes Das verratene Meer unter der Leitung von Simone Young auf der Bühne stehen. In London wird er wieder als Colline in La Bohème mitwirken. Daneben gibt Peter Kellner Konzerte unter anderem in New York, Cleveland und Prag.

In der Saison 2019/20 war er an der Wiener Staatsoper als Theseus in der Neuproduktion Midsummernight’s Dream, Il re di Scozia in Ariodante sowie als Leporello in Don Giovanni zu erleben. Am Royal Opera House London feierte er als Colline in La Bohème einen großen Erfolg.

Peter Kellner gab sein Debut an der Wiener Staatsoper als Panthée in Berlioz‘ Les Troyens, debütierte als Ratcliffe (Billy Budd) am Covent Garden London und als Figaro (Le Nozze di Figaro) an der Volksoper Wien und beim Glyndebourne Festival. Als Papageno (Die Zauberflöte) stellte er sich am Teatro de la Maestranza in Sevilla sowie am Teatro Lirico Giussepe Verdi Trieste vor. Weitere Debüts waren der Sarastro (Zauberflöte) am Stadttheater Klagenfurt, die Titelpartie in Händels Hercules am Staatstheater Oldenburg, Colas (Bastien und Bastienne) beim Macao Opera Festival, Le Gouverneur (Le Comte Ory) beim Klosterneuburg Festival, Dulcamara (Elisir d‘ amore) am Staatstheater Banská Bystrica sowie Sciarrone und Carceriere (Tosca) beim Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Seine Rollendebüts als Colline und Leporello (Don Giovanni) sang er am Slowakischen National Theater Bratislava. Bereits 2013 war er bei den Salzburger Festspiele als Osmin in „Die Entführung aus dem Serail für Kinder“ sowie im „Don Carlo“ unter der Leitung von Antonio Pappano engagiert. Als Ensemblemitglied der Oper Graz (2015/16 – 2017/18) stellte er sich hier als Osmin (Die Entführung aus dem Serail), Basilio (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Doktor Grenvil (La Traviata), Bruder Laurent (Roméo et Juliette), Colline (La Bohème), Lord Sidney (Il viaggio a Reims) und in der Titelrolle von Mozarts Le Nozze di Figaro vor.

Peter Kellner gewann den Independent Opera Fellowship der Wigmore Hall Song Competition, den 2. Preis und Publikumspreis des Internationalen Mozartwettbewerbs Salzburg 2018 und den ersten Preis des Internationalen Wettbewerbs Feruccio Tagliavini in Deutschlandsberg. Er hat bislang mit Dirigenten wie Sir Antonio Pappano, Vasily Petrenko, Adam Fischer, Marco Armiliato, Ivor Bolton, Friedrich Haider u.a. und Orchestern wie den Wiener Philharmonikern, der Camerata Salzburg, dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, den Bamberger Symphonikern,  der Staatsphilharmonie Košice oder den Grazer Phlharmonikern zusammen gearbeitet.

Peter Kellner stammt aus der Slowakischen Republik und studierte am Konservatorium Košice bei M. Adamenko, am Mozarteum Salzburg bei B. Bakow und schloss sein Studium mit dem Bachelor bei A. Sol an der Kunstuniversität Graz ab.

2020/21

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)