Norbert Ernst

Norbert Ernst (c) Michael Poehn

Born in Vienna, tenor Norbert Ernst is in demand all over the world as a performer of German repertoire, especially operas by Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss.

Highlights of the current season 2017/18 are his appearances at the Enescu Festival as Hans Schwalb in Mathis der Maler, at the Wiener Staatsoper as Aegisth in Elektra and as Loge in Das Rheingold, in St. Gallen as Florestan in Fidelio, in Marseille as Lohengrin, at the Bavarian State Opera as Loge in Das Rheingold and in Paris as Aegisth in Elektra (concertante). In the 2016/2017 season Norbert Ernst performed the title role in Wagner’s Lohengrin in Montpellier, the Dvorak Requiem with the MDR Leipzig, Loge in Das Rheingold at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein and furthermore numerous roles at the Wiener Staatsoper.

In summer 2016 he celebrated the release of his new CD “Lebt kein Gott” with excerpts of Wagner operas (Decca). In 17/18 concerts will lead him to Vienna, Tokyo, Cleveland, Karlsruhe and Stockholm. Apart from his commitments at the Wiener Staatsoper, in 2015/2016 he sang concerts with the Cleveland Orchestra and the Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester. Moreover he slipped into the role of Merkur in Danae at the Salzburger Festspiele and into the role of David in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg at the Budapest Festival.

The highlights of 2015 include the premiere of the new production of Richard Strauss’ Elektra at the Wiener Staatsoper, where Ernst performed as Aegisth. With Franz Welser-Möst and The Cleveland Orchestra he embodied Leukippos in Strauss’ Daphne both in Cleveland and at the Lincoln Center Festival in New York. Shortly afterwards he celebrated his opera debut at the Salzburg Festival as Jaquino in Fidelio. In fall 2015 he made his debut at the ROH Covent Garden in London with the Dancing Master in Strauss’ Ariadne auf Naxos.

With his successful interpretation of Loge in Rheingold in 2014, he celebrated his tenth anniversary as a soloist at the Bayreuth Festival, where he embodied Lohengrin in the Bayreuth Festival’s opera for children. The following September he expanded his Wagner repertoire with his convincing debut as Erik in Der Fliegende Holländer at the Wiener Staatsoper.

At the 2013 Bayreuth Festival anniversary he embodied Loge in Rheingold, conducted by Kirill Petrenko and directed by Frank Castorf. Norbert Ernst has been a guest performer at prestigious international festivals, such as the Cincinnati Opera, Ohio, the Opera Festival Savonlinna, Finland and the Salzburg Festival. From 2004 to 2011 Norbert Ernst was a permanent guest soloist at the Bayreuth Festival. Some of his many roles included Steuermann (directed by Claus Guth /conducted by Marc Albrecht), David (Katharina Wagner/Sebastian Weigle) as well as Siegmund and Siegfried in Der Ring des Nibelungen – for children.

Since the 2010/2011 season Norbert Ernst is a member of the Wiener Staatsoper, where he has established himself in the German repertoire and can be seen in roles like Loge (Rheingold), Aegist (Elektra), David (Mastersingers of Nuremberg), Alfred (The bat), Erik (The Flying Dutchman), Narraboth (Salome), Dancing Master (Ariadne auf Naxos) and Tamino (The Magic Flute). For Richard Wagner’s 200th birthday celebration at the Wiener Staatsoper he performed Loge in Rheingold. His performance was celebrated as a brilliant success by both the public and the press.

His first engagement was from 2002 to 2005 at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, where he was able to work on the major roles of his repertoire. Many guest appearances followed, for instance as David (The Mastersingers of Nuremberg), Nemorino (L’elisir d’amore), Steuermann (The Flying Dutchman), Narraboth (Salome), the Dancing Master (Ariadne auf Naxos), Pedrillo (The Abduction from the Seraglio) at major European opera houses such as the Bavarian State Opera, the Wiener Staatsoper, the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, the Grand Théâtre de Geneve, the Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, the Opéra national de Paris, the Opéra de Monte Carlo and the Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam, with conductors such as Franz Welser-Möst, Christian Thielemann, Kirill Petrenko, Peter Schneider, Sebastian Weigle, Bertrand de Billy, Simone Young, Ingo Metzmacher, Ulf Schirmer, Pierre Boulez, Adam Fischer, Pinchas Steinberg and Ivor Bolton.

As recital and concert singer, Norbert Ernst has performed at the Vienna Musikverein, Brucknerhaus Linz, Vienna Konzerthaus, Philharmonie am Gasteig Munich, at the Berlin Philharmonic, at Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Tonhalle Dusseldorf with works of the entire large oratorio literature from Bach’s Passions to Mahler’s Song of the Earth. After his successful recital debut in 2013 at the Vienna Musikverein, and the release of his highly acclaimed first song recording Wohl fühl ich wie das Leben rinnt on the Viennese label Gramola, in January 2015 Ernst and his accompanist Kristin Okerlund were invited for a recital at the Opéra National de Paris with songs of Hugo Wolf to texts by Eduard Mörike. As a “Lieder-singer”, Ernst’s artistic focus lies in his intense occupation with “Lieder” by Hugo Wolf, Wilhelm Kienzl and Franz Schubert.

Norbert Ernst started his vocal studies with Gerd Fussi at the Josef-Matthias Hauer Conservatory in Wiener Neustadt and later studied “Lied und Oratorium” with Robert Holl and Charles Spencer at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. He went deeper into his studies by attending master classes held by Walter Berry and Kurt Equiluz.

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Upcoming Performances

www.norbert-ernst.com

Norbert Ernst

Norbert Ernst (c) Michael Poehn

Der in Wien geborene Tenor Norbert Ernst ist als Interpret von Opernpartien im deutschen Repertoire insbesondere von Partien Richard Wagners und Richard Strauss’ weltweit gefragt.

In der Saison 17/18 wird er in folgenden Produktionen zu hören sein: beim Enescu Festival als Hans Schwalb in Mathis der Maler, an der Wiener Staatsoper als Aegisth in Elektra und als Loge in Das Rheingold, in St. Gallen als Florestan in Fidelio, in Marseille erneut als Lohengrin, an der Bayerischen Staatsoper ebenfalls als Loge in Das Rheingold und in Paris in einer konzertanten Elektra. In der Saison 16/17 trat Norbert Ernst als Lohengrin in Montpellier, im Dvorak Requiem mit dem MDR Leipzig, als Loge in Das Rheingold an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein und weiterhin in zahlreichen Rollen an der Wiener Staatsoper auf.

Im Sommer 2016 kam es zur Veröffentlichung seiner neuen CD „Lebt kein Gott“ mit Ausschnitten aus Wagner-Opern bei Decca. Neben seinen Verpflichtungen an der Wiener Staatsoper sang er 15/16 Konzerte mit dem Cleveland Orchestra und dem Brandenburgischen Staatsorchester, den Merkur in Danae bei den Salzburger Festspielen und den David in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg beim Budapest Festival.

Zu den Höhepunkten im Jahr 2015 gehörte die Premiere der Neuproduktion von Richard Strauss’ Elektra an der Wiener Staatsoper wo Norbert Ernst als Aegisth zu erleben war. Mit Franz Welser-Möst und dem Cleveland Orchestra verkörperte er den Leukippos in Strauss’ Daphne sowohl in Cleveland als auch beim Lincoln Center Festival in New York und feierte kurz darauf mit Jaquino im Fidelio sein Operndebüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Im Herbst 2015 debütierte er am ROH Covent Garden in London mit dem Tanzmeister in Strauss’ Ariadne auf Naxos.

Mit seiner erfolgreichen Interpretation des Loge im Rheingold feierte er 2014 sein zehnjähriges Jubiläum als Solist der Bayreuther Festspiele und verkörperte außerdem den Lohengrin in der Kinderoper der Bayreuther Festspiele. Er erweiterte im darauffolgenden September sein Wagner-Repertoire mit seinem souveränen Rollendebüt als Erik im Fliegenden Holländer an der Wiener Staatsoper.

Bei den Bayreuther Jubiläumsfestspielen 2013 verkörperte er den Loge im „Rheingold“ unter dem Dirigat von Kirill Petrenko und in der Regie von Frank Castorf. Norbert Ernst ist Gast bedeutender internationaler Festivals wie Cincinnati Opera, Ohio, dem Opernfestival Savonlinna Finnland und den Salzburger Festspielen. Von 2004 bis 2011 war Norbert Ernst ständiger Gast bei den Bayreuther Festspielen, wo er u. a. als Steuermann (Regie: Claus Guth/Dirigent: Marc Albrecht) und David (Katharina Wagner/Sebastian Weigle) zu sehen war.

Seit der Spielzeit 2010/11 ist Norbert Ernst Ensemblemitglied der Wiener Staatsoper, wo er sich im deutschen Fach etabliert hat und in Partien wie z. B. Loge (Rheingold), Aegisth (Elektra), David (Meistersinger von Nürnberg), Alfred (Die Fledermaus), Erik (Der fliegende Holländer), Narraboth (Salome), Tanzmeister (Ariadne auf Naxos) sowie Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) zu erleben ist. Im Ring-Zyklus an der Wiener Staatsoper anlässlich des 200. Geburtstages von Richard Wagner konnte er als Loge in „Rheingold“ einen fulminanten Erfolg feiern und löste bei Publikum und Presse gleichermaßen Begeisterung aus.

Sein erstes Engagement führte ihn von 2002 bis 2005 an die Deutsche Oper am Rhein, wo er die zentralen Partien seines Fachs erarbeiten konnte. Es folgten Gastspiele als David (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg), Nemorino (L’elisir d’amore), Steuermann (Der fliegende Holländer), Narraboth (Salome), Tanzmeister (Ariadne auf Naxos), Pedrillo (Die Entführung aus dem Serail) an großen europäischen Opernhäusern wie der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, der Wiener Staatsoper, dem Gran Teatre del Liceu Barcelona, dem Grand Théâtre de Geneve, der Staatsoper unter den Linden Berlin, der Opéra National de Paris, der Opéra de Monte Carlo und der Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam mit Dirigenten wie Franz Welser-Möst, Christian Thielemann, Kirill Petrenko, Peter Schneider, Sebastian Weigle, Bertrand de Billy, Simone Young, Ingo Metzmacher, Ulf Schirmer, Pierre Boulez, Adam Fischer, Pinchas Steinberg und Ivor Bolton.

Als Lied- und Konzertsänger gastierte Norbert Ernst u. a. im Wiener Musikverein, im Brucknerhaus Linz, im Wiener Konzerthaus, in der Philharmonie am Gasteig München, in der Philharmonie Berlin, im Concertgebouw Amsterdam und in der Tonhalle Düsseldorf mit Werken der gesamten großen Oratorienliteratur von Bachs Passionen bis hin zu Mahlers „Lied von der Erde“. Nach seinem erfolgreichen Liederabend Debüt im Wiener Musikverein und der Veröffentlichung seiner viel beachteten ersten Liedeinspielung „Wohl fühl ich wie das Leben rinnt“ beim Wiener Label Gramola im Jahr 2013, gestaltete Norbert Ernst mit seiner Liedbegleiterin Kristin Okerlund im Januar 2015 einen Liederabend an der Operá National de Paris mit Liedern von Hugo Wolf nach Eduard Mörike.

Im Liedgesang liegen Norbert Ernsts künstlerische Schwerpunkte in der intensiven Beschäftigung mit dem Liedwerk von Hugo Wolf, Wilhelm Kienzl und Franz Schubert.

Norbert Ernst studierte Gesangspädagogik und Konzertfach Gesang bei Gerd Fussi am Josef-Matthias-Hauer-Konservatorium in Wiener Neustadt und Lied und Oratorium bei Robert Holl und Charles Spencer an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien. Er vertiefte seine Studien eingehend in Meisterkursen bei Walter Berry und Kurt Equiluz.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

Nächste Vorstellungen

www.norbert-ernst.com