Michaela Schuster

Michaela Schuster (c) Nikola Stege

Michaela Schuster is considered one of today’s most important mezzo-sopranos, and she performs regularly on all the world’s most important stages. In 2017/18 Ms. Schuster gave her outstanding debut at the Metropolitan Opera in New York as Klytämnestra in Elektra. Her operatic engagements in 2018/19 include Amme in Frau ohne Schatten at Staatsoper Berlin, Mutter in Hänsel und Gretel at Covent Garden London, Zia Principessa in Il Trittico as well as Herodias in Salome at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich, while concerts will bring her to Hamburg where she will sing Beethoven‘s Symphony No.9 and Verdi‘s Messa da Requiem, and to Prague where she will perform in Mahler‘s Symphony No.3. Ms. Schuster will have her recital debut at the Wigmore Hall in London this season as well.

Numerous recent guest engagements for Ms. Schuster include Sieglinde (Die Walküre), Kundry (Parsifal), Brangäne (Tristan und Isolde), Venus (Tannhäuser) and Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten) at the Berlin Staatsoper; Sieglinde (Walküre), Fricka (Walküre, Rheingold), Waltraute (Götterdämmerung), Venus (Tannhäuser), Ortrud (Lohengrin) and Knusperhexe (Hänsel und Gretel) at the Wiener Staatsoper; Sieglinde at the Semperoper in Dresden and the Teatro Real in Madrid; Ortrud (Lohengrin) at the Norske Opera in Oslo; Ortrud (Lohengrin), Marie (Wozzeck), Waltraute (Götterdämmerung) and Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten) at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich; Kundry (Parsifal) and Amneris (Verdi/Aida) at the Hamburgische Staatsoper; Brangäne (Tristan und Isolde) and Waltraute (Götterdämmerung) at the Gran Teatro del Liceu Barcelona; Amme (Strauss/Die Frau ohne Schatten) at the Theatre de la Monnaie Brussels and at the Salzburg Festival; Laura (Ponchielli/La Gioconda) at the Deutsche Oper Berlin; Waltraute (Götterdämmerung), Klytämnestra (Strauss/Elektra) and Ortrud (Lohengrin) at the Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam; Herodias (Strauss/Salome), Klytämnestra (Elektra), Venus (Tannhäuser), Principessa di Boullion (Cilea/Adriana Lecouvreur) and Amme (Die Frau Ohne Schatten) at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden; Florinda (Schubert/ Fierrabras), Preziosilla (Verdi/La Forza del Destino), Eboli (Verdi/Don Carlo) and Caesonia in the world premiere of Detlef Glanert’s Caligula at the Oper Frankfurt; Ortrud (Lohengrin) and Venus (Tannhäuser) at the Lyric Opera Chicago; Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten) at the Teatro alla Scala Milano; La Clairon (Capriccio) and Ortrud (Lohengrin) at the Opéra National de Paris.

Ms. Schuster works regularly with conductors like Kirill Petrenko, Daniel Barenboim, Simone Young, Christoph von Dohnányi, Sebastian Weigle, Franz Welser-Möst, Marc Albrecht, Ingo Metzmacher, Philippe Jordan, Semyon Bychkov, Christian Thielemann and Kent Nagano. Among the important directors with whom she has collaborated are David McVicar, Robert Wilson, Richard Jones, Stefan Herheim, Peter Konwitschny, David Alden, Andreas Kriegenburg, Claus Guth and Christof Loy.

A versatile performer, Ms. Schuster maintains a Lieder and concert repertoire spanning works from the Baroque to the modern. Some of her important concert appearances include Bach’s Passions and Christmas Oratorio (Berlin Philharmonic); Handel’s Messiah and Wagner’s Wesendonck Lieder (Radio France in Paris); Rossini’s Messe Solennelle, Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis, Verdi’s Requiem and Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder (Alte Oper Frankfurt); Mendelssohn’s Elijah (Stuttgart Liederhalle); Brahms’ Alto Rhapsody, Schönberg’s Gurrelieder, Berg’s Altenberg Lieder and Seven Early Songs (Bamberger Sinfoniker), Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde (Staatsoper Stuttgart), Des Knaben Wunderhorn (Amsterdam Concertgebouw); Vivaldi’s Gloria, Eisler’s Deutsche Symphonie, and Beethoven’s Symphony No.9 (La Scala, Chicago Symphony Orchestra), Berg’s Altenberg Lieder and Mahler’s Rückert-Lieder (Hamburger Symphoniker), and Mahler’s 3rd Symphony (City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and Wiener Symphoniker under the baton of Philippe Jordan). She sang the alto part in Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No.2 and No.3 with the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne under the baton of Markus Stenz (published on CD). In the 2016/17 season she made her debut at the Schubertiade Hohenems.

Her latest CD of Lieder titled “Morgen” (Oehms Classics) was honoured with several awards.

Ms. Schuster was born in Fürth (Bavaria). After completing her oboe studies at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, she studied singing there with Helena Lazarska as well as at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin with Jarmila Rudolfowa Kratzer. In 1996 she completed her education with honors. She also undertook master classes with Christa Ludwig, Aribert Reimann, and Julia Hamari.

Ms. Schuster won the first prize in the Bayreuth and “Debut in Meran“ international competitions for Wagner voices, and she was awarded the special Wagner Prize in the “Francisco Viñas“ competition (Barcelona).

2018/19

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

www.michaelaschuster.com

Michaela Schuster

Michaela Schuster (c) Nikola Stege

Die Mezzosopranistin Michaela Schuster gilt heute als eine der wichtigsten Vertreterinnen ihres Faches und ist international auf allen großen Bühnen zu hören. In 2017/18 gab sie ihr fulminantes Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera New York als Klytämnestra in Elektra. Zu den Verpflichtungen der Saison 2018/19 zählen die Amme in Frau ohne Schatten an der Staatsoper Berlin, die Mutter in Hänsel und Gretel an Covent Garden London, Zia Principessa in Trittico sowie die Herodias in Salome an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München. Konzerte führen die Künstlerin mit Beethovens Symphonie Nr.9 und Verdis Messa da Requiem nach Hamburg und mit Mahlers Symphonie Nr.3 nach Prag. Außerdem wird Michaela Schuster ihr Liederabend-Debüt in der Londoner Wigmore Hall geben.

Zahlreiche Gastspiele führten die Künstlerin z.B. an die Staatsoper Berlin als Sieglinde (Walküre), Kundry (Parsifal), Brangäne (Tristan und Isolde), als Venus (Tannhäuser) und als Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten); an die Wiener Staatsoper als Sieglinde (Walküre), Fricka (Walküre, Rheingold), Waltraute (Götterdämmerung), als Venus (Tannhäuser), als Ortrud (Lohengrin) und als Knusperhexe (Hänsel und Gretel); an die Semperoper Dresden und ans Teatro Real Madrid als Sieglinde; an die Norske Opera Oslo als Ortrud (Lohengrin); an die Bayerische Staatsoper als Ortrud (Lohengrin), als Marie (Berg/Wozzeck), als Waltraute (Die Götterdämmerung) und als Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten); an die Hamburgische Staatsoper als Kundry (Parsifal) und als Amneris (Verdi/Aida); ans Gran Teatro del Liceu Barcelona als Brangäne (Tristan und Isolde) und als Waltraute (Die Götterdämmerung); ans Theatre de la Monnaie Brüssel und zu den Salzburger Festspielen als Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten); an die Deutsche Oper Berlin als Laura (Ponchielli/La Gioconda); an die Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam als Waltraute (Götterdämmerung), als Klytämnestra (Strauss/Elektra) und als Ortrud (Lohengrin); ans Royal Opera House Covent Garden als Herodias (Strauss/Salome), als Klytämnestra (Elektra), Venus (Tannhäuser), als Principessa di Boullion (Cilea/Adriana Lecouvreur) und als Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten); an die Oper Frankfurt als Florinda (Schubert/ Fierrabras), Preziosilla (Verdi/La Forza del Destino), Eboli (Verdi/Don Carlo) und als Caesonia in der Welturaufführung Caligula von Detlef Glanert sowie an die Lyric Opera Chicago als Ortrud (Lohengrin) und als Venus (Tannhäuser), an die Mailänder Scala als Amme (Die Frau ohne Schatten) und an die Opéra National de Paris als La Clairon (Capriccio) und als Ortrud (Lohengrin).

Die Künstlerin arbeitet regelmäßig mit Dirigenten wie Kirill Petrenko, Daniel Barenboim, Simone Young, Christoph von Dohnanyi, Sebastian Weigle, Franz Welser-Möst, Marc Albrecht, Ingo Metzmacher, Philippe Jordan, Semyon Bychkov, Kent Nagano und Christian Thielemann zusammen. Außerdem arbeitet sie mit wichtigen Regisseuren wie: David McVicar, Robert Wilson, Richard Jones, Stefan Herheim, Peter Konwitschny, David Alden, Andreas Kriegenburg, Claus Guth, Christof Loy u.v.a. zusammen.

Zum Lied- und Konzertrepertoire der sehr vielseitigen Sängerdarstellerin gehören Kompositionen vom Barock bis zur Moderne. Neben zahlreichen Liederabenden sang sie u.a. Bach (Johannespassion, Matthäuspassion und Weihnachtsoratorium) in der Berliner Philharmonie, Wagner (Wesendonck-Lieder) in Paris mit dem Radio France und im Konzerthaus Berlin, Verdi (Requiem) in der Alten Oper Frankfurt, Mendelssohn (Elias) in der Stuttgarter Liederhalle, Brahms (Alt-Rhapsodie), Schönberg (Gurrelieder / Waldtaube), Berg (Altenberg-Lieder und Sieben frühe Lieder) mit den Bamberger Sinfonikern, Mahler in der Staatsoper Stuttgart (Lied von der Erde) und im Concertgebouw Amsterdam (Des Knaben Wunderhorn und die Kindertotenlieder), Rossini (Messe Solennelle), Beethoven (Missa Solemnis) an der Alten Oper Frankfurt, Eisler (Deutsche Symphonie), Beethoven (Symphonie Nr.9) an der Scala di Milano und beim Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Berg (Altenberg Lieder) und Mahler (Rückert-Lieder) mit den Hamburger Symphonikern und Mahler (Symphonie Nr.3) mit dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra und mit den Wiener Symphonikern unter der Leitung von Philippe Jordan. 2016/17 gab sie ihr Debüt bei der Schubertiade Hohenems.

Zudem sang sie die Altpartie in Gustav Mahlers Symphonie Nr.2 und Nr.3 (die beide auf CD erschienen sind) in der Kölner Philharmonie mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester unter Markus Stenz. Ihre aktuelle Lied-CD „Morgen“ (Oehms Classics) wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Michaela Schuster wurde in Fürth/Bayern geboren. Nach einem Oboe-Studium am Mozarteum in Salzburg studierte sie dort dann (bei Helena Lazarska) sowie an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin (bei Jarmila Rudolfowa Kratzer) Gesang. 1996 schloss sie ihre Ausbildung in Berlin mit Auszeichnung ab. Meisterklassen bei Christa Ludwig, Aribert Reimann und Julia Hamari folgten.

Bei den internationalen Gesangswettbewerben für Wagnerstimmen in Bayreuth und ,,Debüt in Meran“ gewann sie jeweils Erste Preise und wurde beim Wettbewerb ,,Francisco Vinas“ mit dem Wagner-Sonderpreis ausgezeichnet.

2018/19

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

www.michaelaschuster.com