Matthew Jocelyn

Matthew Jocelyn (c) Tony Hauser

Canadian-born Matthew Jocelyn has worked indiscriminately in theatre and opera for the past twenty years.  His theatrical work includes productions such as : the French-language premières of Dancing at Lughnasa by Brian Friel, Nightingale and Our Country’s Good by Timberlake Wertenbaker ; L’Annonce faite à Marie by Paul Claudel with original music by Philippe Boesmans; Macbeth by William Shakespeare ; The Liar by Corneille ; Fernando Krapp Wrote Me This Letter by Tankred Dorst, in his own translation.

After spending three seasons as resident director at the opera studio of the Paris Opéra-La Bastille, he was appointed Director of the Atelier du Rhin, in Colmar, France, where he also established and directed the Jeunes Voix du Rhin, the opera studio of the Opéra national du Rhin.

His numerous opera productions include : Larmes de couteau and Alexandre Bis by Bohuslav Martinù; La Cecchina ossia la buona figliola by Niccolo Piccinni ; Reigen, by Philippe Boesmans, La Clemenza di Tito by C.W. Gluck ; l’Étoile by Ernest Chabrier (Opéra National du Rhin), Le Roi Arthus by Ernest Chausson and Die Frau ohne Schatten by R. Strauss (Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Bruxelles) ; Lucia di Lamermoor (OperFrankfurt); Julie by Philippe Boesmans (Théâtre de l’Athénée, Paris) ; Die Trilogie der Frauen – operas by Schoenberg, Strasnoy and Rihm (Staatsoper Hamburg).

In February 2009 he was appointed Artistic and General Director of Canadian Stage, Canada’s foremost national contemporary theatre.

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Matthew Jocelyn

Matthew Jocelyn (c) Tony Hauser

Der in Kanada geborene Matthew Jocelyn arbeitete in den letzten zwanzig Jahren sowohl am Theater als auch an der Oper. Zu seinen Arbeiten am Theater zählen die französischsprachigen Premieren von Dancing at Lughnasa von Brian Friel, Nightingale und Our Country’s Good von Timberlake Wertenbaker, L’Annonce faite à Marie von Paul Claudel mit der Originalmusik von Philippe Boesmans, Macbeth von William Shakespeare, The Liar von Corneille, Fernando Krapp Wrote Me This Letter von Tankred Dorst, in seiner eigenen Übersetzung.

Nach drei Saisonen als Leiter des Opernstudios an der Pariser Opéra Bastille, wurde er Direktor des Atlier du Rhin, in Colmar, Frankfreich, wo er die Jeunes Voix du Rhin – das Opernstudio der Opéra national du Rhin – gründete und leitete.

Seine zahlreichen Opernproduktionen umfassen Werke wie Larmes de couteau und Alexandre Bis von Bohuslav Martinù, La Cecchina ossia la buona figliola von Niccolo Piccinni, Reigen von Philippe Boesmans, La Clemenza di Tito von C.W. Gluck, l’Étoile von Ernest Chabrier (Opéra National du Rhin), Le Roi Arthus von Ernest Chausson und Die Frau ohne Schatten von R. Strauss (Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Bruxelles), Lucia di Lamermoor (OperFrankfurt), Julie von Philippe Boesmans (Théâtre de l’Athénée, Paris), Die Trilogie der Frauen – Opern von Schoenberg, Strasnoy und Rihm (Staatsoper Hamburg).

Seit Februar 2009 ist er Generaldirektor und künstlerischer Leiter der Canadian Stage, Kanadas führendem zeitgenössischen Theaters.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)