Lydia Steier

(c) Anke Neugebauer

Born in Hartford, Connecticut, Lydia Steier first moved to Germany as a Fulbright Scholar following her vocal studies at Oberlin Conservatory of Music in Ohio.

Steier’s work on The Lesson in Berlin’s HAU and on the multimedia production of Eight Songs for a Mad King, which was presented in Chicago, Cleveland, New York and Mexico, were the first two productions to bring her significant attention.

Following that, Steier directed productions of La clemenza di Tito, and Brundibar for Opera Theater of Pittsburgh, Lohengrin at Los Angeles Opera, Madame Butterfly in Bremen, and The Merry Widow at the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar. Her stagings were further invited to festivals in Hong Kong, Dublin and New York.

Based on her productions of Busoni’s Turnadot and Leonvallo’s Pagliacci, she was named by Deutschlandradio Kultur as their „New Discovery of the Year,“ and after its success in Potsdam, her staging of Jeptha was taken on by the Wiener Festwochen.

Steier’s staging of Donnerstag by Karl-Heinz Stockhausen was selected by Opernwelt magazine as the „Best Staging of the 15/16 Season,“ while her productions of Händel’s oratorio Saul at the Staatstheater Oldenburg and Pascal Dusapin’s Perela at the Staatstheater Mainz were nominated for the renowned FAUST-Theater Prize.

Steier’s most recent important works as a director include Giulio Cesare at the Komische Oper Berlin, Turandot at the Oper Köln, Les Troyens at the Semperoper Dresden, Die Zauberflöte at the Salzburger Festspiele, Oedipus Rex/Iolante at the Oper Frankfurt, the world premiere of Diodati.Unendlich (Michael Wertmüller and Dea Loher) at the Theater Basel, Pique Dame at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein, La Juive and Alcina at the Staatsoper Hannover, Carmen at the Oper Köln and Les Indes Galantes at the Grand Théâtre de Genève.

In the 2020/21 season she will be leading Dai Fujikura’s A Dream of Armageddon at the New National Theatre Tokyo, Aida at the Oper Frankfurt and La Fanciulla del West at the Staatsoper Berlin.

2020/21

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Lydia Steier

(c) Anke Neugebauer

Lydia Steier wurde in Hartford, Connecticut geboren. Nach einem Gesangsstudium am Conservatory of Music in Ohio übersiedelt sie als Fulbright-Stipendiatin nach Deutschland.

The Lesson im Berliner HAU und die multimediale Produktion von Eight Songs for a Mad King, die in Chicago, Cleveland, New York und Mexiko präsentiert wurde, waren erste vielbeachtete Arbeiten.

La clemenza di Tito und Brundibar für das Opera Theatre Pittsburg, Lohengrin an der Los Angeles Opera, Madame Butterfly in Bremen und Die lustige Witwe am Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar folgten. Ihre Inszenierungen wurden zu Festivals in Hong Kong, Dublin und New York eingeladen.

Mit Busonis Turandot und Leoncavallos Der Bajazzo wurde sie zur „Neuentdeckung des Jahres“ von Deutschlandradio Kultur gewählt. Ihre Inszenierung Jephta aus Potsdam wurde nach dem großen Erfolg von den Wiener Festwochen übernommen.

Die Zeitschrift „Opernwelt“ wählte ihre Inszenierung Donnerstag von Karl-Heinz Stockhausen zur „Besten Inszenierung der Saison 15/16“. Händel´s Oratorium Saul am Staatstheater Oldenburg und Pascal Dusapin`s Perelà am Staatstheater Mainz wurden für den renommierten FAUST-Theaterpreis nominiert.

Giulio Cesare an der Komischen Oper Berlin, Turandot an der Oper Köln, Les Troyens an der Semperoper Dresden, Die Zauberflöte bei den Salzburger Festspielen, Oedipus Rex/Iolante an der Oper Frankfurt, die Uraufführung von Diodati.Unendlich (Michael Wertmüller und Dea Loher) am Theater Basel, Pique Dame an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein, La Juive und Alcina an der Staatsoper Hannover, Carmen an der Oper Köln und Les Indes Galantes am Grand Théâtre de Genève waren zuletzt weitere wichtige Arbeiten der Regisseurin.

In der Saison 2020/21 werden ihre Interpretationen von Dai Fujikuras A Dream of Armageddon am New National Theatre Tokyo, Aida an der Oper Frankfurt und La Fanciulla del West an der Staatsoper Berlin zu erleben sein.

2020/21

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)