Kathleen Kim

Kathleen Kim (c) Taek Kang
Kathleen Kim (c) Taek Kang

In the 2017/18 season Kathleen Kim sang Blondchen at Bayerische Staatsoper under Ivor Bolton and returned to the Metropolitan Opera as La Fée in Cendrillon under the baton of Bertrand the Billy. Furthermore she appeared at the Opera Theatre of Saint Louis where she sings the role of Josephine in the newly-adapted An American Soldier. This was a world premiere.

Kathleen Kim is regular guest at The Metropolitan Opera with many performances and different roles as Tytania (A Midsummer Night`s Dream) under the baton of James Conlon, Olympia (Les contes d`Hoffmann) and Blondchen (Die Entführung aus dem Serail) conducted by James Levine, Oscar (Un ballo in maschera) under the baton of Kirill Petrenko, Zerbinetta (Ariadne auf Naxos) conducted by Fabio Luisi and Madame Nao (Nixon in China) under the baton of John Adams. In the last season she made her debut as Sophie (Der Rosenkavalier) under Sebastian Weigle.

The Soprano had several recent role debuts including Lucia (Lucia di Lammermoor) at Sarasota Opera, Rosina (Il barbiere di Siviglia) at Dague Opera and the roles of Fire, Princess and the Nightingale in Ravel’s L’enfant et les sortilèges (production: Laurent Pelly) at the Glyndebourne Festival and Teatro dell’Opera di Roma.

Kathleen Kim also sang Olympia in a new production of Les Contes d’Hoffmann at Bayerische Staatsoper under Emmanuelle Villaume and at the Gran Teatre del Liceu under Stéphane Denéve. She also appeared as Oscar (Un Ballo in maschera) at La Monnaie, as Zerbinetta (Ariadne auf Naxos) at Oper Frankfurt and Tytania (A Midsummer Night’s Dream) at the Glyndebourne Festival.

At 2010 she was guest soloist in South-Korea at the Independence Day Celebration Concert of the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Myung-Wung Chung. She has a strong relationship to her homeland South-Korea and this led to more projects with the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra (also under the baton of Myung-Wung Chung) including Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No.8 and No.2 and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 (recorded and released by Deutsche Grammophon). She also sang Carmina Burana under Yves Abel and Beethoven’s Symphony No.9 under the baton of Christoph Eschenbach.

2018/19

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

www.kathleenkim.com

Kathleen Kim

Kathleen Kim (c) Taek Kang
Kathleen Kim (c) Taek Kang

In der aktuellen Saison sang Kathleen Kim Blondchen an der Bayerischen Staatsoper unter Ivor Bolton und kehrte an die Metropolitan Opera in New York als La Fée in Cendrillon unter Bertrand de Billy zurück. Zu Ende der Saison ist sie an der Oper Saint-Louis als Josephine in der Welt Premiere von An American Soldier zu hören.

Sie ist regelmäßig an der Metropolitan Opera in unterschiedlichsten Rollen wie: Tytania (Ein Sommernachtstraum), Olympia (Hoffmanns Erzählungen) und Blondchen (Die Entführung aus dem Serail) zu sehen. Außerdem sang sie Oscar (Un ballo in maschera) unter Kirill Petrenko, Zerbinetta (Ariadne auf Naxos) dirigiert von Fabio Luisi und Madame Nao (Nixon in China) unter dem Dirigat von John Adams. In der letzten Saison hatte sie ihr Debut als Sophie (Der Rosenkavalier) unter Sebastian Weigle.

Kürzliche Rollendebüts waren unter anderem Lucia (Lucia di Lammermoor) an der Sarasota Oper, Rosina (Der Barbier von Sevilla) an der Dague Oper sowie Das Feuer/Die Prinzessin/Die Nachtigall in L’enfant et les sortilèges in einer Produktion von Laurent Pelly beim Glyndebourne Festival und am Teatro dell’Opera di Roma.

Sie sang in einer Neuproduktion die Rolle der Olympia in Hoffmanns Erzählungen an der Bayerischen Staatsoper unter Emmanuelle Villaume und am Liceu Barcelona unter Stéphane Denève. An der Oper Frankfurt gab sie die Zerbinetta (Ariadne auf Naxos) und Tytania (Ein Sommernachtstraum) beim Glyndebourne Festival. Außerdem sang sie Oscar (Un Ballo in maschera) am Theatre de la Monnaie in Brüssel.

Im Jahr 2010 war sie Solistin beim Festkonzert zum Unabhängigkeitstag Südkoreas gemeinsam mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester Seoul unter der Leitung von Myung-Wung Chung. Weitere Projekte mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester waren Gustav Mahlers Symphonie Nr. 8 und Nr.2 und Beethovens Symphonie Nr.9. (die Aufnahme ist bei der Deutschen Grammophon erschienen). Sie sang auch die Carmina Burana unter Yves Abel und Beethovens Symphonie Nr.9 unter Christoph Eschenbach.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

www.kathleenkim.com