Harry Kupfer

Harry Kupfer (c) Reto Klar

Born in Berlin, the German Director studied at the Theaterschule Hans Otto in Leipzig. He was “Oberspielleiter” in Stralsund (1958-1962) and Chemnitz (1962-1966) and worked in Weimar and in Dresden. From 1981 on he was director of the Komische Oper Berlin and Professor at the Musikhochschule Hanns Eisler Berlin. For his last production as chief director at the Komische Oper Berlin, The Turn of the Screw, he was awarded the Bavarian Theatre Prize in 2002. He is a member of the Akademie der Künste Berlin, of the Freie Akademie der Künste Hamburg, as well as of the Sächsischen Akademie der Künste Dresden. In 2004 he was honoured with the Silbernes Blatt der Dramatiker Union.

He has directed more than 200 opera productions all over the world, i.a. in Bayreuth (Wagner’s Der fliegende Holländer in 1987 and Der Ring des Nibelungen in 1988), at the Salzburger Festspiele in 1986 (the premiere of Penderecki’s Die schwarze Maske) and a whole Wagner cycle at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden with Daniel Baremboim. Other works by Harry Kupfer include: Verdi’s Giovanna d’Arco, Macbeth and the world premiere of Reimann’s Bernarda Albas Haus at the Bayerische Staatsoper, Weill’s Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny, Penderecki’s The Devils of Loudon and Bernstein’s Westside Story at the Semperoper Dresden.

In recent years Harry Kupfer staged i.a. Lehar’s The Merry Widow at the Hamburg State Opera, Pfitzner’s Palestrina and Berlioz’ La damnation de Faust as well as Prokofjews The Gambler at the Frankfurt Opera. At the Zurich Opera he directed Wagner’s Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg and returned to the Theater an der Wien with Strauss’ Ariadne auf Naxos, where he had staged the famous world premiere of the musical production Elisabeth in 1992, as well as Mozart! in 1999. In 2014 he directed Les Contes d’Hoffmann in Tel Aviv , as well as a highly regarded production of Der Rosenkavalier at the Salzburger Festspiele and Parsifal in Tokio.

Harry Kupfer was part of a generation of stage directors that strongly affected the development of opera towards music theatre and opened it to a contemporary perception. His exceptional strength lies in the psychological development of pieces and gives the audience the opportunity to look deeper into very well known works of opera.

Future projects include Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk at Bayerische Staatsoper, Ein Leben für den Zaren at Oper Frankfurt and Parsifal at Finnish National Opera.

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Harry Kupfer

Harry Kupfer (c) Reto Klar

Der gebürtige Berliner studierte an der Theaterhochschule Hans Otto in Leipzig, war 1958-62 Oberspielleiter der Oper Stralsund, 1962-66 in Chemnitz und arbeitete in Weimar Dresden. Ab 1981 war er Leiter der Komischen Oper Berlin und Professor an der Musikhochschule Hanns Eisler Berlin. Für seine letzte Inszenierung als Chefregisseur an der Komischen Oper Berlin, The Turn of the Screw, erhielt er 2002 den Bayerischen Theaterpreis. Er ist Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin und der Freien Akademie der Künste Hamburg, sowie der Sächsischen Akademie der Künste Dresden. 2004 wurde er mit dem Silbernen Blatt der Dramatiker Union ausgezeichnet.

Unter den über 200 Operninszenierungen im In- und Ausland hat er u.a. für Bayreuth 1978 Wagners Der fliegende Holländer und 1988 Der Ring des Nibelungen, 1986 bei den Salzburger Festspielen die Uraufführung von Pendereckis Die schwarze Maske und einen ganzen Wagner-Zyklus an der Berliner Staatsoper mit Daniel Barenboim erarbeitet. Weitere Arbeiten waren u.a.: Verdis Giovanna d’ArcoMacbeth und die Uraufführung von Reimanns Bernarda Albas Haus an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Weills Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny, Pendereckis Teufel von Loudon und Bernsteins Westside Story an der Semperoper Dresden.

In den letzten Jahren hat der Ausnahmeregisseur u.a. Lehars Die lustige Witwe an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, Pfitzners Palestrina und Berlioz’ La dammnation de Faust sowie Prokofjews Der Spieler an der Oper Frankfurt inszeniert. Am Opernhaus Zürich erarbeitete er Wagners Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg. Mit Strauss’ Ariadne auf Naxos kehrte Harry Kupfer an das Theater an der Wien zurück, wo er 1992 die Uraufführungen der Musicals Elisabeth und 1999 Mozart! inszeniert hatte. Das Jahr 2014 beinhaltete unter anderem Les Contes d’Hoffmann in Tel Aviv sowie die viel beachtete Produktion von Der Rosenkavalier bei den Salzburger Festspielen und Parsifal in Tokio.

Harry Kupfer war Teil einer Generation von Regisseuren, welche die Entwicklung der Oper zum Musiktheater stark mitprägten und einer heutigen Sichtweise öffneten. Seine besondere Stärke in der psychologischen Entwicklung der Stücke lässt den Betrachter oftmals in Welten blicken, die neue Universen und neue Anstöße für oft wohlbekannte Werke öffnen.

Zukünftige Projekte führen ihn u.a. an die Bayerische Staatsoper (Lady Macbeth von Mzensk), an die Oper Frankfurt (Ein Leben für den Zaren) und an die Finnische Nationaloper (Parsifal).

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)