Guanqun Yu

Guanqun Yu

Guanqun Yu is one of the most promising sopranos of the younger generation and appears regularly at big opera houses worldwide.

Engagements of the season 2017/18 include a.o. Simone-Amelia at State Opera Hamburg and Mimi at Bavarian State Opera Munich. She will sing Elettra in a new production of Idomeneo at Oper Zürich, where she will perform Liu in Turandot and Micaela in Carmen as well. In the role of Liu she returns at Metropolitan Opera New York. Concert engagements will bring her to Scandinavia and Germany.

In 2016/17 she sang Micaela and Donna Anna in Frankfurt, returned as Mimi to Deutsche Oper Berlin und in the role of Liù to Cologne and made her debut at Vienna State Opera as Contessa in Nozze di Figaro. Engagements of the season before led Yu to Berlin, Zurich, Marseille, as well as once more to Bregenz Festival. She gave her debut as Mathilde in Guillaume Tell at Hamburgische Staatsoper and as Contessa at Bayerische Staatsoper München

In 2014/2015 Yu was Fiordiligi and Desdemona in Cologne, debuted as Nedda in Klagenfurt and as Rosina/Contessa in Los Angeles in the sequel opera productions Ghosts of Versailles and Le Nozze di Figaro, receiving the Grammy for her interpretation of Rosina. Beside that she was Liù at Bregenz Festival and Maria Boccanegra in Frankfurt and Dresden

2013 she gave her Debut as Contessa in Peking and returned to Metropolitan Opera as Fiordiligi and to Valencia as Maria Boccanegra a.o. Furthermore Yu debuted at the Deutsche Oper Berlin in a startling performance as Desdemona.

Invited by Metropolitan Opera, Guanqun Yu gave her debut in New York in fall 2012 with a highly celebrated Trovatore-Leonora, was awarded in the Operalia Singing Competition and sang Lucrezia in Verdis I due Foscari opposite to Domingo in Valencia. In the same season she returned to Valencia as Desdemona under the baton of Zubin Metha. 2013 Yu gave her debut as Contessa in Beijing.

In 2008 Yu became member of the opera studio at Teatro Comunale di Bologna. 2010 she debuted in Jeanne d’Arc under the baton of Bertrand de Billy at the Musikverein Wien. This was followed a.o. by Donna Elvira in Bologna, Lina in Stiffelio at Teatro Regio di Parma (published on DVD) in 2012 and her debut as Trovatore-Leonora at Verdi Festival Busseto.

Born and educated in China, Guanqun Yu already sang big roles as Pamina (Die Zauberflöte) and Gilda (Rigoletto) as part of the opera education programme during her studies in Shandong and Shanghai and participated in concerts at important events. She finally became known outside of China by winning the first price at the famous Belvedere Singing Competition.

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Guanqun Yu

Guanqun Yu

Die Chinesin Guanqun Yu gehört zu den vielversprechendsten Sopranistinnen der jüngeren Generation und ist regelmäßig an internationalen Opernhäusern zu Gast.

Zu ihren Verpflichtungen 2017/18 zählen u. a. Simone-Amelia an der Staatsoper Hamburg und Mimi an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München. Die Elettra wird sie in einer Neuproduktion des Idomeneo an der Oper Zürich singen und an diesem Haus außerdem als Liu in Turandot und Micaela in Carmen zu hören sein. Als Liu kehrt sie an die Metropolitan New York zurück. Konzertverpflichtungen führen sie nach Skandinavien und Deutschland.

In der Saison 2016/17 sang sie Micaela und Donna Anna in Frankfurt, kehrte als Mimi an die Deutsche Oper Berlin und als Liù nach Köln zurück und debütierte an der Wiener Staatsoper als Contessa in Nozze di Figaro. 2015/16 führten sie Engagements u.a. nach Berlin, Zürich, Marseille und erneut nach Bregenz. Zudem debütierte sie als Mathilde in Guillaume Tell an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper und als Contessa an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München.

2014/2015 sang sie Fiordiligi und Desdemona in Köln, debütierte als Nedda in Klagenfurt sowie als Rosina/Contessa in Los Angeles. In den miteinander verbundenen Produktionen Ghosts of Versailles und Nozze di Figaro wurde sie für ihre Leistung als Rosina mit dem Grammy ausgezeichnet. Weiters war sie als Liù bei den Bregenzer Festspielen und als Maria Boccanegra in Frankfurt und Dresden zu hören.

2013 debütierte Yu als Contessa in Peking und kehrte 2013/2014 als Fiordiligi an die Metropolitan Opera sowie als Maria Boccanegra nach Valencia zurück; außerdem debütierte sie in einem bravourösen Einspringer an der Deutschen Oper Berlin als Desdemona.

Eingeladen von der Metropolitan Opera gab Yu 2012 ihr viel gerühmtes Debüt in New York als Trovatore-Leonora, wurde Preisträgerin des Operalia Wettbewerbs und sang auf Placido Domingos Wunsch die Lucrezia in I due Foscari in Valencia. Noch in der gleichen Saison kehrte sie als Desdemona unter Zubin Metha dorthin zurück.

2008 wurde sie Mitglied des Opernstudios des Teatro Comunale di Bologna und debütierte 2010 in Jeanne d´Arc unter Bertrand de Billy im Musikverein Wien. Es folgten u.a. Donna Elvira in Bologna, Stiffelio-Lina am Teatro Regio in Parma (auf DVD erschienen) und Trovatore-Leonora beim Verdi Festival Busseto.

Bereits während ihres Studiums in Shandong und später Shanghai sang sie im Rahmen des dortigen Opernstudios Pamina (Die Zauberflöte) und Gilda (Rigoletto) sowie vielumjubelte Konzerte bei wichtigen öffentlichen Veranstaltungen. Sie verschaffte sich letztlich mit dem Sieg des ersten Platzes bei dem renommierten Belvedere Gesangswettbewerb Gehör über die Grenzen Chinas hinaus.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)