Claudia Mahnke

Claudia Mahnke (c) Monika Rittershaus

Claudia Mahnke has become one of the most important mezzosopranos due to her Brangäne and Fricka at Bayreuth Festival, Judith in Bartoks Bluebeard’s Castle at Staatsoper Hamburg and Didon in Les Troyens at Oper Frankfurt in the recent seaosns. Her engagements in 2017/18 include Kundry in a new new production of Parsifal at Staatsoper Hamburg, Judith in Bluebeard’s Castle at Oper Frankfurt, where she will appear as well as Selika in Meyerbeer‘s L‘ Africaine and Fricka in Rheingold. At Sächsische Staatsoper Dresden she will sing Iokaste in Strawinsky‘s Oedipus Rex. Concert engagements will bring her to National Youth Orchestra, where she will perform Judith in Bluebeard’s Castle and to Lausanne, where she will appear in Mahler’s Lied von der Erde with Simone Young conducting.

In the season 2016/17 she performed at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg and at the Staatsoper Hamburg in Bluebeard’s Castle, which she will also perform with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. In autumn 2015 she gave concerts in Tokio (Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra) and was a guest performer at the Stuttgart Opera, singing the role of Herodias in Salome. In summer 2013 Claudia Mahnke made her debut in Bayreuth under Kirill Petrenko in the new Ring (Fricka/Rheingold, Fricka/Walküre, Waltraute/Walküre, Waltraute/Götterdämmerung, 2. Norn/Götterdämmerung).

In addition to her commitment at the Stuttgart State Opera Claudia Mahnke gave many guest performances, as for instance at the Komische Oper Berlin (Komponist in Ariadne auf Naxos), at the San Francisco Opera (Dorabella in Così fan tutte, Cherubino in Le Nozze di Figaro, Zerlina in Don Giovanni and Komponist), at the Opera National de Lyon (Dorabella), in Seoul with the Deutsche Oper Berlin (Cherubino), at the Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe (Le Prince Charmant in Cendrillon), at the Aalto Theater in Essen and the Cologne Opera (Octavian), at the Ruhrtriennale under Kirill Petrenko (Brangäne), at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich (Palestrina, I Puritani), at the Teatro Real Madrid (Adriano in Rienzi) and in autumn 2014 at LA Opera as Judith in Herzog Blaubarts Burg.

Since the beginning of the 2006/2007 season she has been a member of the Frankfurt Opera, where she performed, amongst other roles, the part of Magdalena (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg), Charlotte (Werther), Bianca (Florentinische Tragödie), Lucretia (The Rape of Lucretia), Conception (L’heure espagnole), Cherubino, Silla (Palestrina), Miranda (The Tempest/Ades), Giovanna Seymour (Anna Bolena), Giulietta (Les Contes d’Hoffmann), Judith (Herzog Blaubarts Burg), Marguerite (La Damnation de Faust/Berlioz), Brangäne (Tristan und Isolde), Waltraute and 2. Norn (Götterdämmerung), Blanche (The Gambler by Prokofiev), Komponist (Ariadne auf Naxos), Kundry (Parsifal) and Mrs. Meg Page (Falstaff).

From 1996 to 2006 she was ensemble member of Stuttgart State Opera, where she developed a broad repertoire. She sang the title role in Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Simplicius Simplicissimus in Stuttgart and at the Munich Opera Festival 2005 and celebrated a personal success. Her interpretation of Simplicius Simplicissimus brought her several nominations for “Singer of the Year” in the “opera world”. In August 2006 Claudia Mahnke was appointed “Kammersängerin” of the Stuttgart State Opera.

Claudia Mahnke also has a wide concert repertoire, including Bach’s Mass in B Minor, Penderecki’s Credo and Rossini’s Petite messe solennelle (under Helmuth Rilling), Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis, Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder, Mahler’s 2nd Symphony and Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder (under Lothar Zagrosek and under Markus Stenz with the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne), Mahler’s Lied von der Erde (with the International Bach Academy in Stuttgart), Verdi’s Messa da Requiem (under Manfred Honeck and Nicola Luisotti), Beethoven’s Mass in C major and Bruckner’s Mass in F minor (under Fabio Luisi), Haydn’s Paukenmesse and Mendelssohn’s Elijah (under Yun Märkl and Helmuth Rilling), Bruckner’s Mass in F minor (under Herbert Blomstedt with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra) and Bruckner’s Te Deum (under Simone Young in Madrid).

The German mezzosoprano Claudia Mahnke studied singing with Prof. Heidi Petzold at the Academy of Music in Dresden.

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Claudia Mahnke

Claudia Mahnke (c) Monika Rittershaus

Claudia Mahnke hat sich in den vergangenen Spielzeiten als eine der bedeutendsten Mezzosopranistinnen etabliert, u.a. mit der Brangäne und Fricka bei den Bayreuther Festspielen, der Judith in Bartoks Blaubart an der Staatsoper Hamburg und der Didon in Les Troyens an der Oper Frankfurt. Zu ihren Verpflichtungen der Saison 2017/18 zählen die Kundry in einer Neuproduktion des Parsifal an der Staatsoper Hamburg, die Judith in Herzog Blaubart an der Oper Frankfurt, die sie auch als Selika in Meyerbeers Afrikanerin und als Fricka im Rheingold präsentieren wird. An der Sächsischen Staatsoper Dresden wird sie die Iokaste in Strawinskys Oedipus Rex übernehmen. Konzertverpflichtungen führen sie u.a. zum National Youth Orchestra, mit dem sie die Judith in Bartoks Blaubart singen wird und nach Lausanne, wo sie unter der Leitung von Simone Young Mahlers Lied von der Erde interpretieren wird.

2016/17 gastierte sie an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München mit Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg sowie an der Staatsoper Hamburg und beim Baltimore Symphony Orchestra mit Herzog Blaubarts Burg. In der Saison davor war sie neben einer Konzertreise nach Tokio (Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra) an der Oper Stuttgart als Herodias in Salome zu hören. Claudia Mahnke gab im Sommer 2013 unter Kirill Petrenko ihr Debüt bei den Bayreuther Festspielen im neuen Ring (Fricka/Rheingold, Fricka/Walküre, Waltraute/Walküre, Waltraute/Götterdämmerung, 2. Norn/Götterdämmerung.

Neben ihrem festen Engagement entfaltete Claudia Mahnke eine umfangreiche Gastiertätigkeit, u.a. an der Komischen Oper Berlin (Komponist in Ariadne auf Naxos), San Francisco Opera (Dorabella in Così fan tutte, Cherubino in Le Nozze di Figaro, Zerlina in Don Giovanni und Komponist), Opera National de Lyon (Dorabella), mit der Deutschen Oper Berlin in Seoul (Cherubino), am Badischen Staatstheater Karlsruhe (Le Prince Charmant in Cendrillon), Aalto Theater Essen und Oper Köln (Octavian), Ruhrtriennale unter Kirill Petrenko (Brangäne), sowie Bayerische Staatsoper München (Palestrina, I Puritani), Teatro Real Madrid (Adriano in Rienzi) und im Herbst 2014 an der LA Opera als Judith in Herzog Blaubarts Burg.

Seit Beginn der Spielzeit 2006/2007 ist sie Ensemblemitglied der Oper Frankfurt, wo sie bisher u.a. als Magdalena (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg), Charlotte (Werther), Bianca (Florentinische Tragödie), Lucretia (The Rape of Lucretia), Conception (L’heure espagnole), Cherubino, Silla (Palestrina), Miranda (The Tempest/Ades), Giovanna Seymour (Anna Bolena), Giulietta (Les Contes d’ Hoffmann), Judith (Blaubarts Burg), Marguerite (La Damnation de Faust/Berlioz), als Brangäne (Tristan und Isolde), als Waltraute und 2. Norn (Götterdämmerung), als Blanche (Der Spieler von Prokofjew), als Komponist (Ariadne auf Naxos), als Kundry (Parsifal) und Mrs. Meg Page (Falstaff) zu hören war.

Von 1996–2006 war sie Ensemblemitglied der Staatsoper Stuttgart, wo sie sich ein breites Repertoire erarbeitete. Als Interpretin der Titelpartie in Karl Amadeus Hartmanns Simplicius Simplicissimus konnte sie in Stuttgart und bei den Münchener Opernfestspielen 2005 einen persönlichen Erfolg feiern. Ihre Interpretation des Simplicius Simplicissimus brachte ihr mehrere Nominierungen als „Sängerin des Jahres“ in der „Opernwelt“ ein. Im August 2006 wurde Claudia Mahnke zur Kammersängerin der Staatsoper Stuttgart ernannt.

Claudia Mahnke verfügt auch über ein breites Konzertrepertoire u.a. Bach h-moll Messe, Pendereckis Credo und Rossinis Petite messe solennelle (unter Helmuth Rilling), Beethovens Missa solemnis, Mahlers Kindertotenlieder, Mahlers 2. Sinfonie und Schönbergs Gurrelieder (unter Lothar Zagrosek und unter Markus Stenz mit dem Gürzenich Orchester Köln), Mahlers Lied von der Erde (mit der Internationalen Bachakademie Stuttgart), Verdis Messa da Requiem (unter Manfred Honeck sowie Nicola Luisotti), Beethovens C-Dur Messe und Bruckners f-moll Messe (unter Fabio Luisi), Haydns Paukenmesse und Mendelssohns Elias (unter Yun Märkl sowie unter Helmuth Rilling), Bruckners f-moll Messe (unter Herbert Blomstedt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern) und Bruckners Te Deum (unter Simone Young in Madrid).

Claudia Mahnke erhielt ihre Gesangsausbildung bei Frau Prof. Heidi Petzold an der Hochschule für Musik in Dresden.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)