Boaz Daniel

Boaz Daniel

The doubtless highlight of the 2017/18 season is the role of Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde at the Staatsoper Berlin under the baton of Daniel Barenboim. Boaz Daniel will be there in January 2018. Furthermore he will travel to Calgary (June 2018) where he will sing Beethoven`s Symphony No.9 and in August 2018 to Perth. Before that he has guest engagements in Tokyo (Carmen), in Budapest (Rienzi, concertant) and in Canada at the Lanaudiere Festival with Parsifal, where he will take over the role als Klingsor. Moreover he will appear at the George Enescu Festival in september 2017. His role debut as Franz in Die Räuber will be in november2017 at the Volksoper in Vienna. As in the past season he will return to the Wiener Staatsoper during his residency where he will be seen in different roles.

In 2015/2016 he appeared at the Semperoper Dresden as Conte Almaviva in Le Nozze di Figaro. Besides his commitments at the Wiener Staatsoper he sang Schönberg’s Jakobsleiter with the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester in Berlin, Schönberg’s Gurre Lieder at the Kunstfestspiele Herrenhausen under Ingo Metzmacher, Enrico in Lucia di Lammermoor at the Oper Köln, Gunther in Die Götterdämmerung at the Staatsoper Berlin and Don Pizarro in Israel under the baton of Zubin Mehta. In 2014/2015 he made his debut at the Teatro alla Scala Milano with Zimmermann’s Die Soldaten, as well as his debut with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra as Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde.

During the 2010/2011 season Boaz Daniel made his role debut as Klingsor in the new production of Parsifal at the Liceu in Barcelona. Further projects led him, amongst others, to the Deutsche Oper Berlin with the part of Posa in Don Carlo and with the part of Kurwenal in Tristan and Isolde, which he also sang at the Staatsoper Hamburg, to the Salzburger Festspiele with Die Soldaten, to the Wiener Staatsoper with Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, to London with Tristan und Isolde at BBC-Proms and to Cologne, where he sang Amfortas and Klingsor in Carlus Padrissa’s (La Fura dels Baus) new production of Parsifal.

In 2008 after performances of Tristan in Tokio on tour with the Opera Bastille Paris under Semyon Bychkov, he gave his successful debut at the Lyric Opera of Chicago as Ford in Falstaff, followed by Ernani in 2009. In autumn 2008 he gave his debut at the Oper Frankfurt as Renato in Ballo in Maschera, followed by his debuts at the Semperoper Dresden as Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde in February 2009 and at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden as Heerrufer in Lohengrin in April 2009.

During the 2006/2007 season he sang Posa in Don Carlo in Tel Aviv and in L’Ape Musicale at the Theater an der Wien. In the same year he gave his highly appreciated debut as Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde at the San Francisco Opera. In April 2007 he did concert performances of La Boheme with the Orchestra of the Bayerische Rundfunk in Munich together with Anna Netrebko and Rolando Villazon under the baton of Bertrand de Billy, which were published on CD and DVD. He is also to be heard on a recording of Tristan und Isolde under Donald Runnicles, amongst others.

In May 2004 he made his debut at the Deutsche Oper Berlin as Enrico in Donizetti’s Lucia di Lammermoor. Boaz Daniel is a regular guest at opera houses and on concert stages under renowned conductors all over the world. In autumn 2000 Boaz Daniel sang the title role in Don Giovanni at the Wiener Volksoper, in summer 2002 he made his debut at the Salzburger Festspiele in the new production of Turandot, followed by concert performances of Tristan und Isolde (Kurwenal) with the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the London Barbican Hall.

Boaz Daniel was born in Tel-Aviv, where in 1996 he graduated from the Rubin Academy of Music and after moving to Vienna he completed a second degree at the Vienna Conservatory. During his studies he had several engagements with the New Israeli Opera. Since 1998 Boaz Daniel has been connected to the Wiener Staatsoper (till 2005 as ensemble member, since then as guest performer) where he has been singing a wide repertoire including Falstaff (Ford), Tristan und Isolde (Kurwenal), Madama Butterfly (Sharpless), Manon Lescaut (Lescaut), Le Nozze di Figaro (Graf), L´Elisir d´Amore (Belcore), Puritani, Simone Boccanegra (Paolo), La Boheme (Marcello), Lohengrin (Heerrufer), Carmen, Lucia di Lammermoor, Die Fledermaus, La Juive, Pique Dame, Faust and Don Carlo, Götterdämmerung (Gunther) and Un ballo in maschera (Renato).

2017/18

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Boaz Daniel

Boaz Daniel

Das Highlight der Saison 2017/18 ist unumstritten die Rolle des Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde an der Staatsoper Berlin unter Daniel Barenboim. Boaz Daniel wird hier im Jänner 2018 zu sehen sein. Weitere Auftritte führen in ihm Juni 2018 nach Calgary, wo er in Beethoven`s Symphonie Nr.9 singt und im August 2018 nach Perth. Zuvor gastiert der gefragte Sänger unter anderem in Tokio (Carmen), in Budapest (Rienzi, konzertant) und in Kanada beim Lanaudiere Festival, wo er den Klingsor in Parsifal zum Besten geben wird. Im September 2017 führt ihn ein Engagement zum bekannten George Enescu Festival. Sein Rollendebüt als Franz gibt er im September 2017 an der Volksoper Wien. Vom November bis Dezember 2017 wird er in Die Räuber zu sehen sein. Wie schon in der Saison zuvor wird der Bariton auch in der Saison 2017/18 im Rahmen seiner Residenzperiode wieder an der Wiener Staatsoper in unterschiedlichen Rollen zu sehen sein.

2015/2016 war er als Conte Almaviva in Le Nozze di Figaro an der Semperoper Dresden zu hören und neben seinen Engagements an der Wiener Staatsoper sang er Schönbergs Jakobsleiter mit dem Deutschen Symphonie Orchester in Berlin, Schönbergs Gurre Lieder bei den Kunstfestspielen Herrenhausen unter Ingo Metzmacher und die Rolle des Enrico in Lucia di Lammermoor an der Oper Köln. Weiters war er als Gunther in der Götterdämmerung an der Staatsoper Berlin und als Don Pizarro in Israel unter Zubin Mehta zu hören. 2014/2015 folgten sein Debüt an der Mailänder Scala mit Die Soldaten von Zimmermann und sein Debüt mit dem Sydney Symphony Orchestra als Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde.

In der Saison 2010/2011 gab Boaz Daniel sein Rollendebüt als Klingsor in der Neuproduktion des Parsifal am Liceu in Barcelona. Weitere Projekte führten ihn unter anderem an die Deutsche Oper Berlin als Posa in Don Carlo und als Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde, für welchen er auch an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper engagiert war, zu den Salzburger Festspielen mit Die Soldaten, an die Wiener Staatsoper mit Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, nach London mit Tristan und Isolde bei den BBC-Proms und nach Köln, wo er in Carlus Padrissas (La Fura dels Baus) Neuproduktion von Parsifal Klingsor und Amfortas sang.

Im Februar 2009 folgte das Hausdebüt an der Semperoper Dresden als Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde und im April 2009 am Royal Opera House Covent Garden als Heerrufer in Lohengrin. 2008 gab er sein erfolgreiches Debüt an der Lyric Opera of Chicago in der Partie des Ford in Falstaff, wo er ein Jahr später auch in Ernani zu hören war. Ebenso debütierte Boaz Daniel 2008 als Renato in Ballo in Maschera an der Oper Frankfurt. Seine Tournee-Arbeit führte Boaz Daniel auch nach Tokyo, genau wie im Jahr 2008 mit der Opera Bastille Paris für Tristan unter Semyon Bychkov.

Die Spielzeit 2006/2007 brachte den Bariton wieder nach Tel Aviv in der Rolle des Posa in Don Carlo sowie an das Theater an der Wien für L’Ape Musicale. Im selben Jahr feierte Boaz Daniel einen großen Erfolg an der San Francisco Opera als Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde. Es folgten konzertante Aufführungen von La Bohème mit dem Orchester des Bayrischen Rundfunks in München unter Bertrand de Billy neben Anna Netrebko und Rolando Villazon, welche auch auf CD und DVD erschienen sind. Ebenso ist er unter anderem in einer Aufnahme von Tristan und Isolde unter Donald Runnicles zu hören. Sein Debüt an der Deutschen Oper Berlin gab Boaz Daniel als Enrico in Donizettis Lucia di Lammermoor im Mai 2004. Im Herbst 2000 sang Boaz Daniel die Titelrolle in Don Giovanni an der Wiener Volksoper, im Sommer 2002 gab er in der Neuproduktion von Turandot sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen, gefolgt von Kurwenal in Tristan und Isolde bei konzertanten Aufführungen mit dem BBC Symphony Orchestra in der Londoner Barbican Hall. Boaz Daniel gastiert regelmäßig unter namhaften Dirigenten an Opernhäusern und in Konzertsälen auf der ganzen Welt.

Der in Tel-Aviv geborene Bariton schloss im Jahr 1996 an der Rubin Academy of Music in Tel Aviv ab und absolvierte nach dem Umzug nach Wien ein Zweitstudium am Wiener Konservatorium. Bereits während des Studiums hatte er mehrere Engagements an der New Israeli Opera. Seit 1998 ist er der Wiener Staatsoper verbunden (bis 2005 als Ensemble-Mitglied, seitdem als Gast) und in einem breiten Repertoire zu hören, darunter in Falstaff (Ford), Tristan und Isolde (Kurwenal), Madama Butterfly (Sharpless), Manon Lescaut (Lescaut), Le Nozze di Figaro (Graf), L’Elisir d’Amore (Belcore), Puritani, Simone Boccanegra (Paolo), La Boheme (Marcello), Lohengrin (Heerrufer), Carmen, Lucia di Lammermoor, Die Fledermaus, La Juive, Pique Dame, Faust, Don Carlo, Götterdämmerung (Gunther), Un ballo in maschera (Renato).

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)