Benno Schachtner

Benno Schachtner

Benno Schachtner succeeded in establishing himself as one of the leading German countertenors in the course of the last season.

Opera engagements of the season 2018/19 include his debut at the Theater an der Wien in a new production of Händel’s Teseo. He will also have his debut at the Opéra de Paris (Palais Garnier) in a new production of Scarlatti’s Il primo omicido (director Romeo Castellucci), both under the baton of René Jacobs. Benno Schachtner will sing this role again at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam. The countertenor will collaborate with the Freiburger Barockorchester, Hamburger Ratsmusik, Collegium 1704, RIAS Kammerchor, Helsinki Baroque Orchestra, Thomanerchor and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. Recordings will bring him to Bachakademie Stuttgart a.o.

Opera engagements of the season 2017/18 included a scenic version of Bach’s Johannes-Passion at Oper Leipzig, the title role in the new production of Philip Glass‘ Echnathon at Oper Bonn, the scenic production of And You Must Suffer (Bach, Johannes-Passion) with B’Rock Gent in Rouen as well as King Arthur with René Jacobs conducting at Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin. Concert engagements brought him to Hamburg, Helsinki, Montreal, Prag and Stuttgart a.o.

Benno Schachter is working regularly with René Jacobs, who engaged him in 2016/17 for a tour to Krakau, Paris, Budapest, Frankfurt and Barcelona, presenting Bach’s Matthäus-Passion. Furthermore he sang with Maestro Jacobs conducting a new production of King Arthur at the Staatsoper Berlin. Other opera engagements included the new production of Händel’s Israel in Egypt with Potsdamer Schlossfestspiele, the revival of Sosarme at Händel Festival Halle as well as the revival of the successful scenic production of And you must suffer (Bach, Johannes-Passion) in Wroclaw and Amsterdam. Concerts brought him to Bachakademie Stuttgart, Bachfest Leipzig, to Bonn and Lübeck.

Most important engagements of recent seasons include: Johannes-Passion in Mailand and Turin with René Jacobs; Scarlattis Il primo omicidio at Schlossfestspiele Potsdam, his Canada debut in Bach‘s Weihnachtsoratorium in Toronto, followed by his US debut with Handel’s Messiah in Seattle; Concerts with Akademie für Alte Musik in Berlin and Munich, the title role of Sosarme at Händel Festival Halle, CD recording Water Music in cooperation with Bayerischer Rundfunk/SONY and Capella de la torre, a concert tour with Helsinki Baroque Orchestra and René Jacobs conducting, the revival of Arminio at Händel Festival Halle as well as the Swiss premiere of Benjamin’s Written on Skin at Theater St. Gallen.

Among previous opera engagements are Ottone in a new production of Monteverdi’s Incoronazione di Poppea and the title role of Giulio Cesare at Theater Erfurt. He sang Prince Medoro in the revival of Triumph der Liebe at historical theatre Bad Lauchstädt. In the season 2011/12 he made his debut at Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin in Cavalieri’s Rappresentazione di anima et di corpo and his debut at State Theatre Braunschweig in Handel’s Saul.

Benno Schachtner was born in 1984 in Illertissen (Bavaria). As a boy soprano and soloist with the “Ulmer Spatzen” he made several trips at home and abroad (including Luxembourg, Holland and Japan). He repeatedly was awarded at the competition „Jugend musiziert“ on state and federal levels (state champion in Baden-Wuerttemberg). 2004 to 2009 Benno Schachtner studied at the Detmold Academy of Music church music with Prof. Gerhard Weinberger and 2008-2010 in the singing class of Prof. Heiner Eckels. In September 2010 he joined the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in the singing class of Prof. Ulrich Messthaler. He is the first countertenor in the history of prestigious Bach International Competition Leipzig who received the title “Bachpreisträger” and, in addition to that, the Orchestra Prize. Already in 2010 he was awarded “Best Young Singer of Nordrhein-Westfalen”.

2018/19

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Upcoming Performances

www.benno-schachtner.com

Benno Schachtner

Benno Schachtner

Benno Schachtner konnte sich im Laufe der vergangenen Spielzeit als einer der vielversprechendsten deutschen Countertenöre etablieren. Zu seinen Opernverpflichtungen der Saison 2017/18 zählen eine szenische Fassung der Bachschen Johannes-Passion an der Oper Leipzig; die Titelpartie in der Neuinszenierung des Echnathon von Philip Glass an der Oper Bonn, die szenische Produktion And You Must Suffer (Bach: Johannes-Passion) mit B’Rock Gent in Rouen sowie King Arthur unter der Leitung von René Jacobs an der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin.  Konzertverpflichtungen führen ihn nach Hamburg, Helsinki, Montreal, Prag und Stuttgart u.a.

Mit René Jacobs verbindet Benno Schachtner eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit, die ihn in 16/17 mit einer ausgedehnten Tournee mit Bachs Matthäus-Passion nach Krakau, Paris, Budapest, Frankfurt und Barcelona führte. Zuvor sang er unter seiner Leitung in der Neuproduktion von King Arthur an der Berliner Staatsoper. Zu weiteren Opernverpflichtungen zählten die Neuproduktion von Händels Israel in Egypt bei den Potsdamer Schlossfestspielen, die Wiederaufnahme Sosarme bei den Händelfestspielen Halle sowie die Wiederaufnahme der in Brüssel sehr erfolgreichen szenischen Umsetzung von And you must suffer (Bach: Johannes-Passion) in Wroclaw und Amsterdam. Konzerte führten ihn zur Bachakademie Stuttgart, zum Bachfest Leipzig sowie nach Bonn und Lübeck.

Zu den wichtigsten Verpflichtungen der Spielzeiten zuvor zählten: die Johannes-Passion in Mailand und Turin unter René Jacobs; Scarlattis Il primo omicidio bei den Schlossfestspielen Potsdam, sein Kanada-Debüt in Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium in Toronto, gefolgt von seinem US-Debüt in Händels Messiah in Seattle; Konzerte mit der Akademie für Alte Musik in Berlin und München, die Titelpartie Sosarme bei den Händelfestspeilen Halle, die CD Aufnahme Water Music in Zusammenarbeit von BR/SONY mit der Capella de la torre, eine Konzerttournee mit dem Helsinki Baroque Orchestra unter der Leitung von René Jacobs, die Wiederaufnahme des Arminio bei den Händelfestspielen Halle sowie die Schweizer Erstaufführung von Benjamin’s Written on Skin am Theater St. Gallen.

Zurückliegende Opernverpflichtungen führten ihn als Ottone zu der Neuproduktion von Monteverdis Incoronazione di Poppea sowie in der Titelpartie von Giulio Cesare an das Theater Erfurt. Als Prinz Medoro gastierte er für die Wiederaufnahme Der Triumph der Liebe am Goethe-Theater Bad Lauchstädt. In der Spielzeit 2011/12 gab er sein Debüt an der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin in Cavalieris Rappresentatione di Anima et di Corpo und debütierte am Staatstheater Braunschweig in Händels Oratorium Saul.

Benno Schachtner wurde 1984 in Illertissen (Bayern) geboren. Als Knabensopran und Solist bei den „Ulmer Spatzen“ unternahm er zahlreiche Reisen ins In- und Ausland (u.a. Luxemburg, Holland, Japan). Er war mehrmaliger Preisträger im Fach Klavier, Duo und Sologesang bei „Jugend musiziert“ auf Landes- und Bundesebene (Landessieger in Baden-Württemberg). Von 2004 bis 2009 studierte Benno Schachtner an der Hochschule für Musik Detmold im Studiengang Kirchenmusik in der Orgelklasse von Prof. Gerhard Weinberger und von 2008 bis 2010 Gesang in der Klasse von Prof. Heiner Eckels. Im September 2010 wechselte er an die Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in die Gesangsklasse von Prof. Ulrich Messthaler. Er ist der erste Countertenor in der Geschichte des Internationalen Bachwettbewerbs Leipzig, der zum „Bachpreisträger“ gekürt und zusätzlich mit dem Orchesterpreis ausgezeichnet wurde. Bereits 2010 wurde er von der Kritik zum besten Nachwuchssänger Nordrhein-Westfalens gewählt.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)

Nächste Vorstellungen

www.benno-schachtner.com