Anna Gabler

Anna Gabler

Anna Gabler’s 2018/19 season begins at the Wiener Staatsoper where she performs Agathe in Weber’s Freischütz and later returns as Chrysothemis in Strauss’ Elektra. Under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle she will sing in concert performances of Die Walküre with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in Munich, while at the Oper Köln she will make her role debut as Fidelio-Leonore with Stefan Soltesz conducting.

During her residency at the famous Wiener Staatsoper in the 2017/18 season, Ms. Gabler could be heard in Arabella (title role) and Capriccio (Gräfin) a.o. In July 2017, she took over the role of Carlotta Nardi in Franz Schreker’s Die Gezeichnete at the Oper Köln. During that same season she also returned to the Staatsoper München to sing in Die Walküre and Götterdämmerung. In spring 2017 Aalto-Theater Essen presented Ms. Gabler as Chrysothemis in Elektra in spring 2017, a role she debuted in November 2015 at the Teatro Comunale Bologna. In the autumn 2016 she made her debut as Salome at the Stadttheater Klagenfurt.

In autumn 2014, Ms. Gabler made her debut at the Helsinki Opera with a concert including orchestral songs by Richard Strauss. In the same season she was Gutrune in Munich, as well as the third Norn in Der Ring der Nibelungen. A new cycle followed in autumn 2015 and she sang Gutrune at Oper Frankfurt at the end of the 2015/16 season. In 2013 she gave her role debut as Senta in Bologna, followed by her Salzburg debut as Eva in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, under the baton of Daniele Gatti.

In 2012, Ms. Gabler was invited to sing Gutrune in a new production of Der Ring der Nibelungen at the Bayerische Staatsoper München, a performance for which she received the “Award of the Munich Opera Festival 2012“. Ms. Gabler’s first invitation to Bayreuth was to sing Ortlinde in Die Walküre in 2007 under Christian Thielemann. Two years later she was entrusted with the part of Senta in the first production of Der fliegende Holländer staged especially for children.

Previous international engagements have brought Ms. Gabler to the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels, the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, the Staatsoper Hamburg under the baton of Simone Young, to the Glyndebourne Festival under Vladimir Jurowski, and to the New National Theatre in Tokyo, where she was heard as Rosalinde in Die Fledermaus under Dan Ettinger and as Arabella under Bertrand de Billy. During her ongoing career she has worked with such renowned directors as Andreas Kriegenburg, Stefan Herheim, David McVicar, Christof Loy and Katharina Thalbach.

Ms. Gabler’s concert career includes such performances as the Verdi Requiem with the Berlin Konzerthaus Orchestra under Yutaka Sado, Beethoven’s Symphony No.9 in Hiroshima and Tokyo under Eiji Oue, the second soprano part in Mahler’s Symphony No.8 at the Tonhalle Düsseldorf, and Ortlinde in concert performances of Die Walküre with the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle.

Ms. Gabler was born in Munich and studied at the local Academy of Music and Theatre, joining the Young Ensemble of the Bayerische Staatsoper München during this period. Permanent engagements followed at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein and the Staatstheater Nürnberg. Early guest appearances led her to the Bayerische Staatsoper München and to the Semperoper Dresden, where she worked with Ivor Bolton, Fabio Luisi and Peter Schneider. She gave her Dresden debut as Gretel in a new production of Hänsel and Gretel by Katharina Thalbach, followed by revivals of Die lustige Witwe and Freischütz, as well as a new production of Cardillac.

2018/19

(Please discard any previously dated material. The text may not be abridged or altered without the prior consent of ARSIS Artist Management.)

Anna Gabler

Anna Gabler

Die Saison 2017/18 steht ganz im Zeichen der Wiener Staatsoper. Anna Gabler hat einen Residenzvertrag mit dem berühmten Wiener Haus und wird hier u.a. in den beiden Strauss Opern Arabella (Titelpartie) und Capriccio (Gräfin) auftreten. Zuvor übernahm sie im Juli 2017 die Rolle der Carlotta Nardi in Die Gezeichneten (Franz Schreker) an der Oper Köln. Im Laufe des Saison kehrt sie für Walküre und Götterdämmerung an die Staatsoper München zurück. Im Frühjahr 2017 sang Anna Gabler die Chrysothemis am Aalto-Theater in Essen. Ihr Debüt in dieser Rolle hatte sie allerdings schon im November 2015 in Bologna. Als Salome war sie das erste Mal im Herbst 2016 in Klagenfurt zu hören.

Im Herbst 2014 debütierte sie an der Oper in Helsinki mit den Orchesterliedern von Richard Strauss. In derselben Saison kehrte sie nach München als Gutrune und 3. Norn in der Götterdämmerung zurück. Eine weitere Serie folgte im Herbst 2015. Zudem verkörperte sie die Gutrune Ende der vergangenen Saison auch an der Oper Frankfurt. Im Sommer 2013 sang sie erstmals bei den Salzburger Festspielen die Eva in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg in einer Neuproduktion unter der Leitung von Daniele Gatti. Im März 2013 gab sie ihr Rollendebüt als Senta in Der fliegende Holländer in Bologna.

2012 wurde sie als Gutrune an die Bayerische Staatsoper in München in der Neuinszenierung der Götterdämmerung eingeladen. Für die herausragende interpretatorische Leistung in dieser Inszenierung erhielt sie den „Festpielpreis der Bayerischen Opernfestspiele 2012“. In Bayreuth sang sie 2007 unter Christian Thielemann Ortlinde in Die Walküre und wurde 2009 mit der Rolle der Senta in der ersten Kinderopernproduktion des Fliegenden Holländers betraut.

Weitere internationale Gastspiele führten sie ans Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel, das Théâtre du Chatelet in Paris, die Hamburgische Staatsoper unter Simone Young, als Eva in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg zum Glyndebourne Festival unter Vladimir Jurowski und als Rosalinde in Die Fledermaus an das New National Theatre in Tokio, wo sie auch im Frühling 2014 ihr Rollendebut als Arabella gegeben hat. In ihrer bisherigen Laufbahn arbeitete Anna Gabler mit einigen namhaften Regisseuren wie Andreas Kriegenburg, Stefan Herheim, David McVicar, Christof Loy und Katharina Thalbach zusammen.

In Konzerten und konzertanten Opernaufführungen sang sie unter anderem Mahlers 8. Sinfonie in der Tonhalle Düsseldorf, das Verdi Requiem unter Yutaka Sado im Berliner Konzerthaus, Mariana im Liebesverbot von Richard Wagner in der Alten Oper Frankfurt unter Sebastian Weigle, Ortlinde in der Walküre mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Sir Simon Rattle und Beethovens 9. Sinfonie in Hiroshima und Tokio unter der Leitung von Eiji Oue.

Die Sopranistin Anna Gabler wurde in München geboren und studierte an der dortigen Hochschule für Musik und Theater. Noch während ihres Studiums wurde sie Mitglied des Jungen Ensembles der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Es folgten Festengagements an der Deutsche Oper am Rhein und am Staatstheater Nürnberg. Daneben nahm sie wiederholt Einladungen an die Bayerische Staatsoper und die Semperoper Dresden an und sang dort unter Ivor Bolton, Fabio Luisi und Peter Schneider. Ihr Debüt an der Semperoper gab sie als Gretel in Hänsel und Gretel in einer Neuinszenierung von Katharina Thalbach, Wiederaufnahmen von Die lustige Witwe und Der Freischütz folgten, sowie die Rolle der Tochter in einer Neuinszenierung der Oper Cardillac.

2017/18

(Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit ARSIS Artist Management. Bitte verwenden Sie kein Material älteren Datums.)