Alexander Soddy
first season in Mannheim

Alexander Soddy celebrates enormous success in his first year as Music Director of  Theater Mannheim performing a.o. Aida, Hänsel und Gretel, Lohengrin, Fledermaus, Madama Butterfly, Così fan tutte, Parsifal, Il Barbiere di Siviglia.  Recently critics brimmed over with enthusiasme his revival  of Elektra.

ELEKTRA – Rezensionen

“GMD Alexander Soddy gave a highly respectable Strauss-debut with the magnificently playing NT-Orchester. The canny conductor vehemently extended himself into the unutterable passions of the score, and seem to be constantly charged with electricity, conveying literally 1,000 volts into the meticulously precise playing of the ensemble. The emotions-become-sound were whipped out of the pit with a constant, rousing agitation. Even amidst the expressive orchestral deluge, Soddy always maintained a judicious detachment from the abundant nuance of finely-woven, delicate tones. In coordination with the action on stage, Alexander Soddy maintained the orchestral suspense of this musical psycho-thriller, from the first bar of this incomparable work to the last. Bravo Maestro, please keep it up!” (Online Merker, Gerhard Hoffmann, 13.05.2017)

“To cap it all, the Mannheim National Theatre Orchestra caught fire under the baton of its 34-year-old British music director, Alexander Soddy – tone colours were beautifully and dramatically drawn, and the pacing was measured but intense, right down to the most emphatic and conclusive final hammer-blow of a note I think I’ve heard in the theatre.” (Bachtrack, Matthew Rye, 14.5.2017)

 

PORTRAIT OF ALEXANDER SODDY

Alexander Soddy
erste Saison in Mannheim

In seinem ersten Jahr als Generalmusikdirektor des Theater Mannheims feiert Alexander Soddy große Erfolge und dirigierte u.a. Aida, Hänsel und Gretel, Lohengrin, Fledermaus, Madama Butterfly, Così fan tutte, Parsifal und Il Barbiere di Siviglia. Zuletzt überschlugen sich die Kritiken mit seiner Wiederaufnahme von Elektra.

ELEKTRA – Rezensionen

„Höchst respektabel gab GMD Alexander Soddy mit dem prächtig aufspielenden NT-Orchester seinen Strauss-Einstand. Vehement steigerte sich der umsichtige Dirigent in die unsagbaren Leidenschaften der Partitur, schien ständig unter Strom zu stehen, übertrug regelrecht 1000 Volt auf den präzise in Akkuratesse musizierenden Klangapparat. In mitreißender ständiger Erregung peitschten die zu Klang gewordenen Emotionen aus dem Graben. Trotz aller expressiven Orchesterfluten behielt Soddy stets die umsichtige Distanz zum Nuancenreichtum der zart-gewobenen, feinnervigen Töne. Vom ersten bis letzten Takt des unvergleichlichen Werkes hielt Alexander Soddy in Koordination zur Bühne die orchestrale Spannung dieses musikalisch einzigartigen Psycho-Trillers. Bravo Maestro, bitte weiter so!“ (Online Merker, Gerhard Hoffmann, 13.05.2017)

„Und um dem Allen noch eins draufzusetzen, fing das Nationaltheater-Orchester Mannheim unter ihrem 34-jährigen britischen Musikdirektor Alexander Soddy Feuer – Klangfarben wurden wunderschön und dramatisch gezeichnet, das Tempo war gemäßigt aber intensiv, bis hin zum nachwirkendsten und eindrucksvollsten schließenden Hammerschlag einer Note, den ich je in der Oper gehört habe.“ (Bachtrack, Matthew Rye, 14.5.2017)

 

EIN KURZES PORTRÄT VON ALEXANDER SODDY